We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Stade Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stade Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
London UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel without reading any reviews because my previous bookings at Best Western Hotels have all been good.
Unfortunately this was not the case this time.
The whole hotel is past its sell by date - tired shabby and run down
Our rooms had bizarre upstairs bathrooms accessed by a steep narrow staircase. Impossible for anyone with mobility issues. Not much room to move in the small L shaped bathroom
The room was clean enough but the quilt cover had stains on which laundering had not removed
The card key failed to work every time we tried to gain entry to our room.
Not much fun when you are on the 3rd floor. The whole lock had to be dismantled by staff at 11pm to gain access to our room. ( Previous reviewers have also commented on this problem)
Soundproofing between rooms is poor.
Breakfast was very poor - offered full English breakfast which came with scrambled egg - not offered any choice of egg. Sat waiting ages for toast by which time breakfast was cold. Tea was lukewarm and teapot leaked everywhere. Fruit yoghurts came from THe Happy Shopper!!
All in all it was awful. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKScrabbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    237
    162
    63
    42
See reviews for
111
345
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here while visiting family. We arrived mid evening and there was a lions do getting underway, even though there was a lot going on we were checked in quickly and without problem. Our room was on the 4th floor of what is an old, typically seaside, building. The room was VERY hot, but after turning off the radiators and opening the windows it became more comfortable. The bed was comfortable, sheets were clean, pillows could have been plumper though. Bathroom was ok, nothing to get excited about but it was clean, if a little tired.
The other reports regarding the staff are fair, they do try and are very helpful. Breakfast was self service in a very old fashioned room, sausage, scrambled egg, beans, hash browns, bacon were all plentiful, but could have been hotter. Toast was brought out promptly, and tea / coffee was topped up without issue. There was also some cereal options.
All in all I would stay there again, although I think this is because there is very little else to choose from in the area unless you want to spend much more on the imperial. I was a bed for the night, and on that it delivered.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Dined in the restaurant as one of forty or so members of a local organisation.
Menu:-
Carrot and coriander soup, colourless and tasteless.
Roast Turkey dinner, thin tasteless and texture less slices of white meat, undercooked, almost raw cauliflower and broccoli, (one piece of each), almost raw carrot, two small pieces of roast potato, two small round burnt spheres of something which turned out to be stuffing and two extremely small "pigs in blankets" which proved to be the best part of the main course.No cranberry sauce available either. All served cold.
Christmas Pudding, pasty catering portion covered in a yellow, watery, tasteless substance.
Coffee, brown hot water, even the replacement after complaining wasn't much better.
My partner's fruit salad was almost all apple with a couple of grapes and some very pithy bits of orange, no cream, ice cream or custard to accompany it.
The waiting staff were young, inexperienced but appeared to have been well trained and did their best. The kitchen staff, and / or management would appear to be the ones at fault.
A final insult was in the gents toilet where there were no paper towels in the dispenser,the hand drier did not work and only two wet, soggy, unhygienic hand towels available to dry my hands on. My partner reported similar conditions inn the ladies rest room.
If you can't cope with the numbers, don't accept the booking.
If you accept the booking, make the experience is enjoyable not a penny pinching abomination of a meal.
Expensive, disappointing, embarrassing for the organiser. I will not be coming back to this establishment.

Room Tip: Eat elswhere!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSCH, Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you Mr. West for your feedback regarding your dining experience at the Best Western Stade Court Hotel.

I am truly sorry to have learned that you had disappointing experience with us. You have been patronizing the hotel since last few years and it really upsets us to hear about your disappointment. However, I am glad to inform you that I and Ash are back again and would take this opportunity to assure you deliver the same quality of food and standard of service as you have experienced in past with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest Regards

Neha
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hythe hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice staff who tried their best to please.. Under new management, but the internet was hit and miss, the toilets did not flush properly, there were engineer spare parts left behind after they fixed the bathtub (for the previous guests), old guests had left cans of beer in the wardrobe etc etc....the breakfast fabulous !.. nice location, but an old hotel.. other guests in our party had weird rooms with bathrooms upstairs and an empty room (no furniture) connecting with them, one other room had to walk through the meeting room facilities (what you do when there is a meeting in progress??).. 50 pounds per night, well l guess that is good value, but if you want teh best, then try the Mecure just a bit further down the beach..

Room Tip: No pool, no gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansmandi, General Manager at Stade Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear ,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01303 268263.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent hotel with beach and sea view on the Kent coast. Rooms with very reasonable price, and excellent family rooms for those with children.
Superb breakfast included in the room price.
The only downside was the evening meal choice.... in my case, better to go out somewhere, as I don't eat foreign food choices. I would go look for an English carvery.
A chain hotel that I would rate as very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, that's what you are there for, I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After a long journey with a meeting the next day, arrived at the Best Western Stade Hotel looking forward to a nice meal. The staff were not very forth coming in providing information. The reception area and bar was out dated to say the least. When we confirmed the timings of the Restaurant we were told it was not in use, and had to eat in the Bar which was just a Bar menu and not very well heated.

The rooms also need up dating.

Breakfast was also not what you would expect from a Best Western, most of the food was cold and poorly presented.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

First, the good points.
Easy to find.
Excellent location. Right on the sea front and near to the town means you don't have to drive to see Hythe from here. You can just leave your car and go exploring.
Excellent views if you get a seaside room.
Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Provided a travel cot and gave us a room with a lovely view of the sea when asked.

Now the bad points!
We were supposed to have a double bed and got 2 singles pushed together.
There was a massive damp patch on the carpet right underneath a part of the ceiling that looked like it had a big leak recently.
The covers provided for the kids had holes in, were stained, were very thin and looked like cheap old curtains.
The room was on 2 levels with the upstairs supposedly for our 2 year old. This would have proved lethal considering the steep narrow stairs and the fact that ONE OF THE WINDOWS DIDN'T CLOSE! We were on the 3rd floor and on the seafront in November. I then had to have the upstairs and my wife had our 2 year old in the bed next to her. I didn't get much sleep as the very thin, stained and holey cover didn't give much protection against the elements in November and the boy racers on the seafront didn't care that I could hear them through my open window.

To say that the hotel is dated is an understatement. It had a feeling of someone wanting to rinse every last little penny out of it without putting any money in. The curtains were threadbare and the net curtains were old and stained. The carpet is very worn going up the stairs and as you use them it easy to notice a massive hole in the roofing felt to another part of the building. This hotel would be lovely if someone were to spend some money on it.

I would have been angry if, again, the excellent staff didn't immediately give us 30% off. Made me think though that they know about the problems.

We will not be returning.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bighaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.5 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,726 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
48 reviews
3.6 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
8.2 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Romney
92 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stade Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stade Court Hotel

Property: Stade Court Hotel
Address: Stade Street | West Parade, Hythe CT21 6DT, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Stade Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stade Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly on the seafront of the picturesque Cinque Port of Hythe. We have been welcoming guests since 1939. All bedrooms are en-suite and are individually furnished and most offer glorious views of the English Channel. We cater for the most discerning of guests and pride ourselves on our reputation for excellent hospitality. Charges for Pets may apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stade Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hythe
Hythe Best Western
Stade Court Hotel Hythe, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing