We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's what you make of it yourself”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's what you make of it yourself”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed on a Friday night dinner +B&B Don't expect opulent luxury. The first room we were given looked out onto a huge concrete flat roof. The second was supposedly an upgrade with a sea view. Very small and right next to the lift so quite noisy. Bed was good and comfy though. The pool and spa are was spoilt by children constantly trooping into the adults only (sign on the door totally ignored) spa sauna and steam rooms staying two mins and then leaving, no chance to relax. Dinner was really good. Set menu with good choices. We both had spring lamb mains and they were excellent. But supplements for almost every main and some starters. Why do they insist on doing this? If dinner is included please include it. For breakfast we both went for smoked haddock and poached egg. It was the smallest portion ever. Good job we could help ourselves to the excellent buffet. All in all ok. Helena on reception was exceptionally helpful. Reasonable value for money. I would go back because I love that part of the Kent coast and its a good base. A few little improvements would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltyDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, as it is very important for us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are taken note of your comments in order to improve the areas you highlighted in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hopefully provide you with an opportunity to make good use of our leisure facilities. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    554
    362
    206
    160
See reviews for
372
773
50
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay in this brilliant hotel. We stayed here three years ago on an organised tour and the food was so poor you could not recognise what you were eating, however after complaints to the tour organiser the food was upgraded to excellent. The bed was so comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud. There does not appear to be any air conditioning in this hotel however to the temperature is comfortable. All the staff are very attentive to the needs of the guests ensuring that everything is satisfactory. The only down side which is not important is no black pudding at breakfast however that is only a trivial comment as nothing is classed as a hundred percent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patprice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really value your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food quality has improved from your last visit three years ago, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

From check in to check out our stay at the Hythe Imperial couldn't be faulted. The hotel and grounds are beautiful with the beach practically next to it! Lovely receptionist on check in (& throughout our stay!)! Friday evening we spent in the Kazzbar listening to live music (which I can only imagine would be great outside during the summer- as staff explained is common!). Saturday we had treatments in the Spa- Katie, the coordinator was so lovely and knowledgable and even helped me pick out a few goodies to take home with me from their ESPA range. Food was lovely- at both in the bar Downstairs and Restaurant! Can't praise the hotel enough for their friendliness, professionalism, quality of food and overall relaxing experience for me and my family!! Definitely wouldn't hesitate to go back there again soon! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your compliments, we really appreciate them. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and treatments in your visit to the Hythe Imperial and I will ensure that your comments are shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in late March with my Partner as part of a relaxing week away from work- this it really was! Infact, it was so nice we decided to extend our stay by an extra day.

The building is very impressive, and although in fairness I understand there is some refurbishing taking place presently, we did find the inside decor tired, old-fashioned and more B&B than the slick, modern rooms we have come to expect (and prefer) from the Mercure brand. Also, there were many places were we could physically see the wear-and-tear of the hotel fittings, e.g. holes in the door.

Beyond appearances, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The main reception always had someone to assist you with issues and the bar staff were pleasant.

The Spa is definitely what makes this hotel stand out to others.... it is fantastic! Not only was there a heated swimming pool, but also a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room- perfect for a relaxing few days away. Also there were modern gym machines and a game room which I think could be fantastic for quiet evenings.

All in all, a very pleasant and homely place to stay and it has amazing views of the coast, but if you prefer the more modern style of hotel decor you will not be impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_A_Fernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed one night as the hotel location is great for catching an early Euro Tunnel train. The hotel is very old and the room was incredibly hot and stuffy - I'm not sure why as the radiator was off in the room. There was no air-conditioning and a noisy roof mounted 4 blade fan did little to help. We were on the 4th floor facing the sea and when we opened the window we had road noise, seagulls and pigeons and fishermen talking until 2am. The disco carried on until the early hours and with an early start we unfortunately had a terrible nights sleep...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanOnHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Many thanks for taking the taking the time to write a review, we really value your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations, please accept my apologies for this. I will share your comments regarding air conditioning with the owner of the hotel so that this can be taken into consideration when planning the full renovation of the hotel. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hythe hotels

Cambs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in March 2013, 1 night Dinner, Bed & Breakfast. The first impressions are good, and the staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful.. However, the first room we were allocated was small and dirty, the bathroom was in a terrible state, the shower was hanging off the wall, mould growing all around the bath tiles and some tiles hanging off. It felt unclean and there was absolutely no way we could have stayed in the room. We immediately asked to be moved, the lady on reception moved us without question to a larger room with a refurbished bathroom, the cleanliness still was not up to a standard you would expect, but it was so much better than the first room. We ate in the bar in the evening, out of choice as the restaurant was full of a coach party. The food was average, I would advise to go out if it is a special occasion. The breakfast in the morning was also average, if you are a foodie, this is not the hotel for you. Overall if was an average experience and we wouldn't go back out of choice.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel, which was fine, but you should check on arrival if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandPCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback, we really appreciate it. I am pleased to hear your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff but disappointed to hear the ones relating to the cleanliness of the hotel. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to our new Head Housekeeper to ensure that immediate improvements are made. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Mercure Imperial twice in the last few weeks and were not disappointed. All the staff that we met were courteous, knowledgable, and helpful. Our room on both occasions was on the 3rd floor overlooking the sea and was spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The decor was dated and a little shabby, but saying that we had very comfortable night stays.
The hotel is in the process of being refurbished.
The buffet style breakfast was tasty, service was first class.
We didn't use the Spa, so cannot comment.
Well done Hythe Imperial, we will be staying with you again shortly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherpa836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your compliments. I am very pleased to hear your comments regarding the service you received and your room. I will share you comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hythe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
4.2 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
17.7 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Property: Hythe Imperial
Address: Princes Parade | Kent, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing