We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Tired Hotel”
Review of Hythe Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hythe Imperial
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in March 2013, 1 night Dinner, Bed & Breakfast. The first impressions are good, and the staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful.. However, the first room we were allocated was small and dirty, the bathroom was in a terrible state, the shower was hanging off the wall, mould growing all around the bath tiles and some tiles hanging off. It felt unclean and there was absolutely no way we could have stayed in the room. We immediately asked to be moved, the lady on reception moved us without question to a larger room with a refurbished bathroom, the cleanliness still was not up to a standard you would expect, but it was so much better than the first room. We ate in the bar in the evening, out of choice as the restaurant was full of a coach party. The food was average, I would advise to go out if it is a special occasion. The breakfast in the morning was also average, if you are a foodie, this is not the hotel for you. Overall if was an average experience and we wouldn't go back out of choice.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel, which was fine, but you should check on arrival if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandPCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback, we really appreciate it. I am pleased to hear your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff but disappointed to hear the ones relating to the cleanliness of the hotel. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to our new Head Housekeeper to ensure that immediate improvements are made. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,360 - 1,366 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Mercure Imperial twice in the last few weeks and were not disappointed. All the staff that we met were courteous, knowledgable, and helpful. Our room on both occasions was on the 3rd floor overlooking the sea and was spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The decor was dated and a little shabby, but saying that we had very comfortable night stays.
The hotel is in the process of being refurbished.
The buffet style breakfast was tasty, service was first class.
We didn't use the Spa, so cannot comment.
Well done Hythe Imperial, we will be staying with you again shortly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherpa836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your compliments. I am very pleased to hear your comments regarding the service you received and your room. I will share you comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a very nice weekend, my Nephew was getting married at Lympne Castle and we wanted a base for a couple of nights. Room was better than our expectation, with a view out to the channel. We used the restaurant one evening and food was excellent and staff very friendly. We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sandra103_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your kind words. I am delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable weekend and I will ensure your comments are shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here years ago and loved it. What happened!! Nothing appears to be the answer. Looked like it hadn't had anything spent on it since my last visit excepta new exterior paint job. Hythe still a lovely place so just spent time out and about instead. I will not book this place again without visiting it first to make sure it looks as good in reality as it does on their website.

Room Tip: Go passed reception, out the front door and look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T_Bergkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Booked a spa day as a treat for myself & a friend. The Hotel is lovely & set right on the sea front with stunning views.
The staff were really friendly & helpful and we were shown to a room with tea/coffee to help ourselves to.
The gym had fresh fruit in a bowl for you to help yourself too which I thought was a really nice touch.
The spa is nice with a good size pool, sauna, steam room & jacuzzi ( although this was cold which was strange as usually hot! ).

Changing rooms were clean with plenty of lockers available. We did have to ask for the towels/robe though.

We booked this through travel Zoo at £39 & was a relaxing day however I'm not sure I would have been so happy had I paid full price.

Regularly go to Eastwell manor on Spa days & although more expensive they just do it better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sashharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your compliments. I am delighted to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your spa days. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the team, as I am sure that they will act as an encouragement as they strive to provide an exceptional customer experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and providing you with a further enjoyable day. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My daughter paid for us to take some qualitiy time out together ( big mistake) This hotel needs to wake up! We were ignored from start to finish. The so called spa is a pool shared by screaming kids jumping in and out. A jacuzzi again with kids running in and out shouting. A waiting area for treatments that looks nice, this is until the bar upstairs spills out looking through the window at you and your daughter with just a robe on. They used this area outside the treatment area for smoking? nice. The changing area is shared by all guests from the hotel, this includes large wedding parties. No toilet rolls in the loo and very dirty. We had to wait untill the people were all served in the bar area before we could get a towel.! Very tired room cracked shower tray dirty windows, not as shown in picture on the web page. The food was its saving grace.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your spa break, please accept my apologies for this. Unfortunately, our pool is very popular, particularly in the Easter holidays and I apologise if this disturbed your swim. With regard to the waiting room, there is not a particular smoking area but instead an outside terrace which is available to our guests. I have, however, noted your comments and will look in to measures we can implement to maximise our spa guest’s comfort. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

have always had a great stay at this hotel but the room we had this time, although very large with all amenities, was looking a little tired. I think some refurbishing is going on as the front lounge looked OK and smelled a bit of new paint but the chesterfields in the bar area were ripped in places. Maybe the rooms are being done as well but we didn't see them of course. The situation of the hotel on the sea front is perfect and for those who want it there is a 9 hole golf course attached which has some unusual holes. Also a good Spa and pool were available but I didn't use it so can't really comment.
Hythe town is steeped in History and plenty of walks along the canal and sea front. Plenty of restaurants to choose from as well. All in all our trip was very good probably because of the good company I went with.

Room Tip: Ask when booking for a fridge in the room, there is no charge but you won't automatically get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HytheImperial, General Manager at Hythe Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really value your feedback. I can confirm that we are renovating areas of the hotel and we are planning a full renovation in the near future to update and improve all of our rooms and facilities. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hopefully provide you with an opportunity to make good use of our leisure facilities. Kind Regards, Fran Ruano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
3.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
64 reviews
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
695 reviews
23 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
14.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hythe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hythe Imperial

Address: Princes Parade, Hythe CT21 6AE, England (Formerly Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range: $64 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hythe Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hythe Imperial is a four star Victorian seafront hotel with stunning views over the English Channel. It boasts 94 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa facilities including ESPA treatments, indoor pool, 9 hole golf course, 4 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking. **** Please note our hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with the ground floor and level one now complete. Level 2 will be out of service between January 2016 and July 2016, Levels 3 and 4 will be refurbished between Summer 2016 and Summer 2017 **** Our hotel is located close to Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar. Explore the Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park. With the hotel currently being renovated, there is the possibility of minimal disturbances with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hythe Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel And Spa
Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel Hythe
Accor Hythe Imperial
Imperial Hotel Hythe
Hythe Imperial Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing