We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food is ok but reminiscent of cafeteria fayre.”

Wells Restaurant Cafe Bar
Ranked #44 of 76 Restaurants in Hythe
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Gastropub, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Wells restaurant is set in a beautiful listed building dating back to 1620 with its seculded secret garden it is just perfect for dining al fresco or just relaxing with drink.We have an extensive menu to suit all palates, wide range of burgers including a beetroot & goats cheese burger,the ultimate vegetarian burger.Potato skins, Nachos, lamb shank, ribs & fish
London
Level Contributor
257 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“The food is ok but reminiscent of cafeteria fayre.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The service was excellent. It is also one of the few places that still serves food after 2p.m. The garden was very pleasant to eat in. The food was just ok absolutely nothing to write home about.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizbetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    13
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem..”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for somewhere different to go so decided in Wells. What a great choice we made. Food was gorgeous, I had lasagne and husband had a burger, and it was faultless. There was too much for me to eat as the portion sizes are rather large, in fact even my husband couldn't manage it and that's rare! Once ordered we had to wait quite a while for the food to come out but it was definitely worth the wait and I shall go back very soon! We also sat in the outdoor area which was very homely and much larger than expected! Try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mileah35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming - and fantastic singer!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were enticed in to this welcoming looking restaurant by the promise of a live pianist…but didn´t realise quite what a treat we had in store - not only a pianist, but also the surprise of a WONDERFUL singer, Hannah, who quite simply took our breath away! A completely unexpected and wonderful bonus to what is a very special and friendly little place. Lovely ambiance and cosy decor. The food was good too, and nice to know you can also pop in at any time of the day for a cup of tea and cake! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bloomsburybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great food lovley surroundings staff friendly. Lots to choose from at least 10 different real
Ales and lots of wines. Great Friday night out 7th June . Oh and hunk of a bar man .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misspeter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely food, good value”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited with a friend for midweek evening out. Plenty of choice, good value and meal was excellent. Was my first visit and will definately go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazkkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Restaurant Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Been to Wells Restaurant Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing