We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break in Hythe”

Sunny Bank Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hythe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunny Bank Guest House
Ranked #8 of 9 Hythe B&B and Inns
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“weekend break in Hythe”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sunny Bank over May bank holiday. Never been to Hythe before and were delighted to find a peaceful seaside resort with fab shops, nice pubs and restaurants and lovely walks. No bright lights, funfairs , amusements etc. Sunny Bank is in perfect location at end of High Street. Trish is a lovely lady and we enjoyed staying there. The sausages and bacon she buys are from a local butcher and they are exceptionally good.It is a lovely old house ; the only noise we heard was the plumbing when other guests were taking showers.We would stay there again. Thank you Trish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The owner was friendly,polite and could not be more helpful.The breakfast was plentiful and the sausages and bacon were especially good.The location is ideal for going to the beach front,historical canal and the high street, on foot.The room we stayed in was spacious and very clean.
The surrounding area has many places to visit too.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front for a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank country-boy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have visited here on many occasions, and found it to be a wonderful place to stay. It has a lovely country feel, and the gardens are a sight to see in spring, with many unusual plants, flowers and trees, with a view over Hythe Bay and the Channel. The food is excellent (just like mum's) and always an enjoyment. It is in a great location for a walk in Hythe High street, or a stroll along the historical Royal Military Canal and Folkestone is only a 10 minutes away if you want a day out shopping. Hythe swimming is only a short walk away The rooms are very comfortable and homely, and nice and quiet in the evenings. The owner is a lovely lady, who is will make your stay a pleasure to be there. Well worth a stay even if just for a quiet weekend break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

There is parking in the back. The owner is friendly and the English breakfast large. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants in walking distance.

The shared bathrooms were rather dirty, however, the rooms were clean, but certainly dated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have stayed on many occasions. Rooms are very Laura Ashley, which suits the property and clean and spacious. Tricia is always ready to help and on hand for lifts in the car if required. Great location for sea front walks and the high street's numerous wonderful bars and restaurants. Good value and great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lulled by the promise of an ensuite room and breakfast, my friend and I booked one night in Sept whilst cycling in Kent. Our ensuite room was shared facilities, one a bath/toilet with a half used bar of soap and a filthy towel (and Ajax, to clean it yourself, I guess) and one shower cubicle/toilet, which was FILTHY! Pink murky towelling covered the toilet (I didn't dare lift the seat) and the shower door stuck down with mould and rust (with an equally dirty floor inside) completely unusuable.
One grey rock hard towel was provided, rock hard beds with one flat pillow (no spares), see-through curtains and continuous traffic noise=one sleepless night.
Breakfast was 'served' at a temporary table in a dark hallway, and the tone was set by the shot glass provided for the value orange juice cartoon.
Despite being vegetarians, we were presented with a grim, grey 'full' English without being asked, plus instant coffee. When we asked for an alternative, the owner was hostile to the point of rudeness, as indeed she had been when we queried the bathroom on arrival. ( Her answer was that we had access to facilties as in the description.)
No breakfast (we could have value cornflakes!), no ensuite and unusuable facilities, and no sleep...and no chance of asking for a reduced rate either, that was made very clear!
In retrospect, we should not have stayed, even for one night, but we arrived tired, ready for a bath, early night and good breakfast..what a joke.
This would be a case for 'The Hotel Inspector' but I guess the owner simply does not want guests in what is obviously her home-full of dusty teddy bears, dried flowers and a musty smell-so I would recommend no one else puts her out, or they will find themselves, as we did, regreting it.
Avoid this at all costs, there is an abundance of good hotels etc in Hythe, there is no need to be ripped off by false promises, places like this should be shut down.

Room Tip: Do not stay here! There is one en-suite room, apparently but the rest are shared, and there is no di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I've stayed at Sunny Bank a few times over the years when visiting friends. My stays have always been lovely. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is to die for - the best bacon I've ever tasted!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laineyf2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.8 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
988 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beach Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Fern Lodge
Fern Lodge
#3 of 9 in Hythe
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Bank Guest House

Property: Sunny Bank Guest House
Address: 3 Station Road, Hythe CT21 5PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sunnybank Hythe - A Breath of Fresh Air!This delightful, family run guest house is set in Kent, the 'Garden of England'. It overlooks the English channel and is only moments from the lush Kent countryside. The well kept, mature cottage gardens enfold this charming period house. Sunny Bank is ideally situated at the end of Hythe High Street and set in a picturesque conservation area of the town. The beautiful beach is only a 5 minute walk away.Each room is beautifully & traditionally decorated, with a flat screen TV and Wi Fi access. There are private bathrooms to three double, twin and family bedrooms and a private, relaxing guest sitting room. There are also tea & coffee making facilities and a microwave. Outside there is a pretty garden and to the front of the guesthouse there is a decked area and at the rear there is a flower decked courtyard with a built-in barbeque which all guests are free to enjoy.A full English breakfast is served every morning with vegetarian options & dietary requirements catered for, your instructions to be given at the time of your booking.There is private, off-road parking available on the drive at the side of the guest house. Transport to and from local station or bus stop by arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny Bank Guest House Hythe, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing