We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would love to go back!”

The Old Post Office Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hythe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Post Office Guest House
Ranked #4 of 9 Hythe B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a wonderful three night stay in the large top floor room of this very well run guesthouse.

The fridge and microwave located just outside our room was so very handy and the room itself had a great view of the High Street.

Hythe is a lovely little town with a long High Street full of individual shops and plenty of good pubs, cafes, restaurants and a very good fish and chip shop.

Margaret is a warm and friendly landlady who went out of her way to help in any way she could. Thankyou!

We would love to return both to Hythe and The Old Post Office Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TOUCHWOOD05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for The Old Post Office Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

My stay at the Malt Guesthouse was absolutely wonderful. It was just a one-night stay as my partner and I had decided to to stay out somewhere for our anniversary. When we arrived we greeted with a smiling face and a very warm welcome, as though having us stay there was the most wonderful thing in the world. We were shown to our room (the double loft room) which was charming, very spacious with good utilities, good en suite & distinct bedroom and lounging areas. After being asked if we there was anything else we needed, we were left to our own devices.

My partner and I enojyed a relaxed afternoon in the room and a lovely indian meal just along the high street, minutes from the guesthouse. The bed/bedding was brilliant! Comfy and cosy with a good firm matress that gave me no trouble with my bad back.

I found my stay at this guesthouse truly brilliant, the house was charming, our room was clean and the owner was warm and helpful without being intrusive.

Cannot wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

The Malt Guest House Now re.named The Old Post Office guest house has been trading since 2003 and although Margaret has had to change the name she wants to let everybody know she will still be offering the same personnel and friendly service as always. Thank you for all your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

From booking the break to leaving things were easy due to Margaret the owner. A lovely lady who could not be more helpful. We stayed in the standard double room which was large and very clean as was the ensuite bathroom. There was a fridge and a microwave(the fridge had fresh milk in it) plenty of storage space. I had the off street parking space which was handy. Close to the high street and everything else including supermarkets. Everyone was very friendly. Ate at the Hythe Brassierie where the food was excellent and the staff great but book to save disappointment. Highly reccommend The Malt House.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the loft room which was large and clean.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveatalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a well-positioned B&B right next to Hythe High Street and within easy walking distance of at least two supermarkets, the sea and miniature railway.
Margaret is extremely well-organised lady, providing written confirmation of our booking and phone call on the day before travelling to confirm arrival times and parking arrangements. As well as being on hand to provide local knowledge when requested.
The room was well-lit, modern and more importantly very clean, with a good quality power shower. The room has a fridge and microwave in which was very handy. However, there was no crockery and cutlery beyond tea making facilities, which seemed a little odd, though I am sure if you requested some, Margaret would provide them. You are given your own front door and room keys and can enter and leave the premises whenever you choose.
It is worth noting that there is no parking at the premises but during the day you can park for free a short walk from the B&B. At night you can move your car to a local car park which is situated 25 yards from the front door of the B&B which is also free between the hours of 6pm-8am, though these times may vary. We didn't find this to be an issue as we were out most of the day, returning early evening and would park in the car park. All in all this was a great experience and we would stay Malt Guest House again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Booked the Malt Guest House as my partner and I are getting married close by next year, and wanted a base to stay at whilst talking to suppliers.

Margaret was very welcoming, and the room (in the loft) lived up to other reviewers comments: clean, tidy, functional, a proper, working shower (with very hot water if you wanted it!), lovely view of the high street, and a close by car park (a tad expensive but at least if you pay for 12 hours they carry the time over to the next day - ideal if you arrive mid-late afternoon and want to wander around in the morning). The room was spacious, with lots of light from the large window, and was warm and cosy.

Lovely place to stay, and would definitley go back again the future.

Room Tip: Loft room was great!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Friendly and attentive service in this super B&B, ideally placed on Hythe's delightful High Street.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familywalker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

it may only be small, but the Malt Guesthouse cannot be faulted. From the original call to Margaret, the subsequent confirmation letter and to the actual stay, everything was perfect. Our double room was spotless - extra real milk in the fridge, big windows which gave lots of light and fresh air. Secure, free parking was a real bonus. A wonderful place to stay, wish we had been there more than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tranmeregirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
0.6 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 9 in Hythe
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malt Lodge
Malt Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hythe
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post Office Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office Guest House

Address: 5 High Street | Folkestone. kent, Hythe CT21 5AB, England (Formerly The Malt Guesthouse)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range: $40 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old post office guesthouse was built in 1910, paid for by the Mackeson family and was known as Hythe post office.We have been trading since June 2003 and although having had to change our name (we were originally known as The Malt guest house)it is still run under the same management(Margaret)offering the same personal and friendly service.Guest are free to come and go as they please there are no restrictions on times as guest are given their own key to use at the guest entrance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Guest House Hythe, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing