We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A really nice place to visit

Despite having lived in Kent for 40 or so years this was our first visit to Hever. We made the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
GerryKent
,
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
A Must Visit For Tudor & Gardening Lovers

We have wanted to come to Hever Castle for some time and visited at the end of October. We had a... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
CarolineSsmith
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 2,959 reviews
  
Reviews (2,959)
Filter reviews
2,821 results
Traveler rating
1,964
693
114
28
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,964
693
114
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anne boleyn water maze astor family childhood home italian garden audio guide tudor history change of clothes large lake adventure playground tudor times yew maze rose garden english history gardens are lovely sunny day boating lake
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,821 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Despite having lived in Kent for 40 or so years this was our first visit to Hever.
We made the mistake of turning up in the early afternoon and had not realised that gates closed at 1630. So we missed out on a few spots of interest, but all in all a nice half day out.

Thank GerryKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

We have wanted to come to Hever Castle for some time and visited at the end of October. We had a fantastic day in the Autumn sunshine – the colours on the leaves were absolutely gorgeous! The gardens and grounds were a lot more extensive than what we were expecting – the gardens were absolutely beautiful, especially the Italian and Rose ones. They are delightful and the upkeep and maintenance are of the highest standard.

The Castle is very interesting and has lots of tapestries, furniture and paintings from the early years alongside items from the 20th Century belonging to the Astor family, but both areas are equally as fascinating.

The staff were very helpful and informative, also.

We had a really lovely day here and thought it was excellent value – we spent a good five hours here and really look forward to returning! I can highly recommend a day out here, nobody could be disappointed.

Thank CarolineSsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

I visited Hever Castle recently with a friend.My last visit being over twenty years ago.
Parking is now in a purposely designated area across the road which is much better than the previous arrangement.
We used our two for one card that I got from the Gardener's World magazine last April.
It certainly helps to reduce the cost.
The Castle is approached via a gravel pathway with beautifully maintained topiary on each side. These had been adorned with nets of festive lights ready to be illuminated once it was dark.
We went into the Castle first which was beautifully preserved and the displays were very pleasing. You could hire an audio tour of the Castle or buy a guide book. The room guides were suitably discrete.
The gardens were a delight. Mid November could be considered a tricky time in the garden, but the general maintenance was of such a high standard that the various areas looked stuning. All the hedges were clipped and trimmed most beautifully and fresh winter bedding of pansies was most effective. It also helped that the autumn leaves this year have been most spectacular.
There are several cafes throughout the estate, however, some were closed as late autumn isn't a very busy time. The main cafe was warm and cosy and the system of obtaining food and drink appeared efficient.
There have been other comments regarding the noisy chatter of children, and we did encounter a group of excited foreign pupils. This was not detrimental to our visit as we were able to visit other areas for peace and quiet. There were many parents there with their young children. This was very heartening to see.
In the leaflets you are given, it advertises that Hever Castle cottages can be hired for events such as weddings or parties, and one can stay in their 5* B&B accommodation.
Hever is certainly somewhere I will be visiting again very soon.

Thank Hilcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've wanted to see Hever Castle for some time and yesterday finally made the detour off the M25. We parked at the top gate entrance and walked down the drive. Being autumn the castle looked beautiful with the autumn colour. The 13th century moated castle is quite a site. We visited the castle first and that took us nearly two hours. The historical connections are fascinating, although I had not realised that the castle had been much restored by the Astors in 1900s. The long gallery, built by Thomas Boleyn in 1508 has recently been restored under the guidance of David Starkey. The walls are covered with paintings that take you from the Wars of the Roses to the reformation. After a very enjoyable morning we had light lunches in the Moat restaurant, where the food was very good, We then walked some of the grounds, seeing the Tudor garden, Italian garden and the rose garden. We went down to the lake and would have liked to have done the lakeside walk but time was running out for us. At the moment it is well worth a visit just to walk and see the autumn colour. I would certainly consider returning to spend more time there.

Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited at the end of October 2018. The castle and grounds are well worth a visit. There is a lovely atmosphere. Children are catered for with a superb adventure playground. There is a good gift shop, tea room , maze and gardens. .There are Tudor houses at the back of the Castle but I cannot comment on whether you can visit these.The castle is surrounded by a moat with a drawbridge. The Castle has been lovingly renovated and has some amazing objects, paintings and panelled rooms. Unfortunately due to the nature of the building, with narrow staircases, spiral staircases and steep stairs the Castle is not accessible to wheelchair users or people with walking difficulties. However the grounds and Maze are open to all abilities and are well worth a visit.

Thank happyoapessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to Hever Castle on a Wednesday morning in early November and had a really lovely experience. It was only me and a small band of school kids there so early and I was the first one in. The grounds are much more extensive than I imagined them to be.

The Italian Garden is wonderful and it was a wonderful spot for pictures. I went on a bit of a gloomy day, but everything was still beautiful.

The castle itself is also really nice. The interior is very well curated and informational. I went in knowing absolutely nothing about the place and came out very much the wiser. There's certainly plenty of things to look at.

I would not recommend trying to walk to it from the train station because there is no obvious route, even though there are footpaths for some of the way, they're quite difficult to find and if you aren't from the area it's difficult to judge where they'll lead you to.

Thank Saskia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay, a wonderful weekend. We couldn’t fit everything in so very much look forward to returning. The rooms were beautiful and staff fantastic. Thank you for making it just perfect!

Thank samwO763QR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took us several train tranfers due to sudden train service cancelations but it was worth it. Simply amazing. You just have to go there and see what I mean.

Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a good few hours here on Sunday leading up to Halloween. Lots of activities for children. The castle is very interesting. Only megative was the cafe near the side entrance. Lots of people gad been waiting for over half an hour for coffee, and although there seemed enough staff, the organisation was abysmal.

Thank deborahcjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a lover of all things Tudor I have wanted to visit Hever Castle for awhile. The family home of Anne Boleyn is a lovely day out, with both the castle and garden being equally worth spending time in. We used Tesco club card points to visit the castle, making it great value for money. We also choose to pay for the audio guide while going around the house. They were definitely worth the extra £3.75 it cost and gave us so much more information about the house and the history of the people who lived in it. There isn’t an awful lot of the house that is original to the time of Anne Boleyn due to several owners that came after. But it’s still very interesting to learn about the history of the house and how it changed over the years. The gardens are wonderful and expansive. You could send all day just wondering the different areas. We meant to visit during the summer when there was jousting on as well, which would give you even more to see. There are lots of places to get a drink or something to eat. We had a lovely Hotel Chocolat hot chocolate to keep us warm. We really enjoyed our day at Hever Castle and would recommend it to anyone interested in history or just wants somewhere to enjoy beautiful gardens.

Thank lauraag90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews