We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, comfortable and friendly”

Kavanagh Cinema Herne Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Fun & Games in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Twin screen Cinema in Herne Bay providing the latest films plus live events from Royal Opera House, National Theatre, English National Opera and concert venues around the world. We have a film club that screens a movie at 11am every Wednesday morning. Coffee is provided in the admission price. On the last Saturday of the month we present an Autism Friendly and Hearing Impaired screening. Films presented in Dolby Digital Surround Sound 5.1 & 7.1 2D,3D & HFR3D
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Easy, comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We visit often for the normal length films. The fresh filter coffee is a nice treat and the popcorn is lovely. We are lucky to have a local cinema and its important to us to keep using it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Salstrawberry44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    37
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great local cinema with some great deals”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great local cinema with some grate deals, £4.00 with Baycard (must have one card per person to get discount) compared to £9.70 at Vue. It is not air conditioned but the seats are comfortable and snacks and drinks are reasonably priced. Supporting local trade

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went here the other day. I must say the film was great and the cinema was great, but for me the customer service wasn't as good as it has been. The staff didn't seem to happy, they were not similing the overall hospitality wasn't as good as it normally is. I was quite disappointed with this but apart from that the overall experience was ok

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small & intimate”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This cinema is a little gem. It still has the natural charm of all the first small picture houses. The cinema rooms are quite small probably seating 100 or so and I really like that as its almost like watching it at home! It's a nice non scary environment for little ones as sometimes the big cinema screens & loudness of the films are quite overpowering for them. Also it's a bargain, about £5.00 & less for a child. Buy your own popcorn beforehand though as its quite expensive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernies Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small cute cinema!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As a resident of Herne Bay, with a Whit/Herne card you can get a discount on cinema tickets here and entry is usually approx £4. It's a small cinema with just two screens so they don't have all the films on show but try to have the main ones. There are cheaper morning screening I believe and special children or OAP screenings. It's worth checking out their website to see what's available. I prefer it to the big expensive cinemas.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank moonstonebright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kavanagh Cinema Herne Bay also viewed

 
Herne Bay, Kent
 

Been to Kavanagh Cinema Herne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing