We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, great atmosphere, friendly staff”
Review of Hampton Inn

Hampton Inn
Ranked #16 of 137 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Have been here several times in last few months. Once had such a lovely meal that we booked for my mums 80th birthday there. They catered for 18 people with no fuss at all. The food was all lovely (only one reservation...the crumble was not as good as mums...Ben 8yrs) We have since been a couple more times and have never been disappointed. The menu changes regularly but keeps favourites like mussells, fish & chips, lasagne. Their fish and chips is the best I have had for a long time, crispy dry batter and deep beautifully cooked fish. Crab salad, rib eye steak, lamb chop all got the thumbs up. Dont miss this gem if you are in the area. Lovely veiws of the sunsets in the evening and great place to start or finish a walk along the seafront.

Helpful?
Thank ruthcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    52
    5
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely pub”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We discovered this pub after a windswept walk from Whitstable along the seafront to Hampton. A great halfway point to stop and eat before walking back to Whitstable. The pub is really cosy and warm. The food ( beer battered cod and chips) was very good and the service quick and friendly. . I would imagine it has really good sunsets there as it faces west so I will definitely be back in the summer if not before.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 844DianaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne bay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish and chips as it should be...”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Staying in Herne Bay for my husband birthday and have visited the pub on a couple of occasions both to eat and have a drink. The fish and chips was delicious and very fresh. Will visit again

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday roast”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked a table for 6, the place was packed with locals drinking and playing pool. The vegtables were cooked to perfection including really goos roast potatos but my lamb was all fat. However the other 5 had beef and said it was lovely. We also had starters that were all gorgeous, first time i've ever had pate and actually had enough toast for it.

Despite the service being a bit clumbsy and the lamb I will defintely go back.

Helpful?
Thank amandamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great take away service”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Went in there not sure what to expect as I had never been in there before although I've lived in the area for years. I went into there today and had take away fish and chips and they were excellent. The service was good, came out quote quick and the major part the food was excellent would defiantly recommend to many people

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton Inn also viewed

 
Herne Bay, Kent
 

Been to Hampton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing