We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average food, complete with hairs.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King Ethelbert Inn

The King Ethelbert Inn
Ranked #18 of 133 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Country setting / beach side / country setting / beach side...We have it all.Traditional country pub in the midst of the Reculver Country park and yet within a stones throw of the sea - perfect.We are a child friendly, dog friendly and customer friendly pub aiming to provide each and every one of our customers an enjoyable visit. Whether the sun is shining and you choose to sit out on the decked area over looking the childrens play area and country park, or if the snow is settling and you choose to enjoy a hot mulled wine in front of the large log burner - we really do have something for everyone.Classic homecooked meals the likes of stew, lasagne or lambs liver & bacon can be enjoyed at reasonable costs starting from just £5.95. Not to mention our Sunday roasts - again just £5.95. But be sure to book as we are always busy.Choice of lagers, wines, spirits and soft drinks with regularly changing cask ales. We are a free trade and so the choices of ales and lagers are unrivalled.I could spend all day telling you about us but why not come along and see for yourself - a warm welcome awaits all.*child friendly*dog friendly*wheelchair access and disabled toilet*good quality home cooked food*childrens play area*log fires*sun terrace*smoking shelter with heaters and lights*parking.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“average food, complete with hairs.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a baked potato with coleslaw and cheese (nothing special), but when I had eaten most of the potato and moved the bottom bit to one side I found two hairs on the plate.

I took the plate over to the bar and was told that 'nobody in the kitchen had hair like that', 'anybody could have put the hairs there' and 'it could have come from an animal' (??). A grudging apology, and virtually accused of lying. One to avoid!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marilyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWing2014, Owner at The King Ethelbert Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
I am sorry that you were not completely happy with your meal. We do try when given the chance to correct any errors on our part however as you said yourself you had eaten the majority of the meal before speaking to a member of staff to voice your complaint.
As for the comments regarding animal hair ??? did you have a pet with you? We are a pet friendly pub and many customers bring their dogs with them so I am wondering if this was the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    77
    20
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good wholesome Pub Grub, well worth a Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stopped off last week for lunch mid way on our walk. A very good choice of food. We ordered cray fish sandwiches and baguettes and the amount of crayfish was unbelievable. No scrimping here. All very tasty with homemade coleslaw. none of your rubbish. Not over keen on pub grub but this shows that it does not have to be awful, it can be tasty, well presented and good value. The place was packed at 12pm on a Monday so that tells you something. Definately go there again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank helenwadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWing2014, Owner at The King Ethelbert Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for taking the time to let others know. Your support means the world to us.
We hope to see you again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfectly ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

A decent pub with reasonable food in a good location. Service was friendly enough and the menu was good value at the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWing2014, Owner at The King Ethelbert Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for taking the time to let others know. Your support means the world to us.
We hope to see you again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shame, it used to be a good pub.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This establishment is now owned by a person with no personality, no manners, and who does not seem to be bothered about having customers. I feel sorry the staff who are very pleasant and helpful. We were in a party of 9 people, and were told by the miserable owner that if we ordered, and paid for our meals separately we would not get our meals at the same time, which did happen. The food was nothing exceptional, but acceptable (possibly because of the non involvement of the the owner who just sat at the bar SMOKING !!!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWing2014, Owner at The King Ethelbert Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Firstly I would like to mention that the pub has actually been in the same hands for almost 10 years, and that contrary to your beliefs I can confirm that we are VERY bothered about having customers. My understanding is that you ordered separately and were informed that tickets will be prepared in the order they are received and therefore if others order in between your group then your food will not be served together. During our busy periods we can quite easily be preparing meals for twenty or so tickets simultaneously .
Secondly we maintain that the premises are strictly no smoking as I am sure you are aware the law specifies. The gentleman at the bar was in fact my father in law smoking an electric cigarette, and whilst I must confess he may not be the most cheerful of people! (please don't tell him I said that), we greatly appreciate his help when we get busy and if he had not served you on that day then no doubt you would have been waiting longer which would have been classed as unacceptable.
We do try to keep all our customers informed and happy but alas we are not perfect and if your experience with us was not a good one then I can only apologise and hope you give us another opportunity to put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited this pub after a long walk along the coastal path. The location is lovely and sitting outside in the sun was most agreeable - despite the wasps!

We also had an evening meal which was good value for money with a wide variety of dishes to choose from. No complaints.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauralan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWing2014, Owner at The King Ethelbert Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for taking the time to let others know. Your support means the world to us.
We hope to see you again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King Ethelbert Inn also viewed

 

Been to The King Ethelbert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing