We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

The King Ethelbert Inn
Ranked #19 of 139 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Country setting / beach side / country setting / beach side...We have it all.Traditional country pub in the midst of the Reculver Country park and yet within a stones throw of the sea - perfect.We are a child friendly, dog friendly and customer friendly pub aiming to provide each and every one of our customers an enjoyable visit. Whether the sun is shining and you choose to sit out on the decked area over looking the childrens play area and country park, or if the snow is settling and you choose to enjoy a hot mulled wine in front of the large log burner - we really do have something for everyone.Classic homecooked meals the likes of stew, lasagne or lambs liver & bacon can be enjoyed at reasonable costs starting from just £5.95. Not to mention our Sunday roasts - again just £5.95. But be sure to book as we are always busy.Choice of lagers, wines, spirits and soft drinks with regularly changing cask ales. We are a free trade and so the choices of ales and lagers are unrivalled.I could spend all day telling you about us but why not come along and see for yourself - a warm welcome awaits all.*child friendly*dog friendly*wheelchair access and disabled toilet*good quality home cooked food*childrens play area*log fires*sun terrace*smoking shelter with heaters and lights*parking.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited this pub after a long walk along the coastal path. The location is lovely and sitting outside in the sun was most agreeable - despite the wasps!

We also had an evening meal which was good value for money with a wide variety of dishes to choose from. No complaints.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauralan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWing2014, Owner at The King Ethelbert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for taking the time to let others know. Your support means the world to us.
We hope to see you again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for The King Ethelbert Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 244 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Visited this pub today and all I can say is that the friendly staff mentioned in other reviews on here must have been on holiday !! There were two grumpy looking gentlemen serving behind the bar who couldn't have cared less whether we were there on not, in fact we were totally ignored for quite some time whilst waiting to order. The food was just about average, I ordered a steak pudding which was obviously microwaved, this pub is fairly local to me but I would not visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shelagh t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWing2014, Owner at The King Ethelbert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

I am sorry you were not happy with your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The bracing air, soon makes for an appetite, well your at the right place. Good food good beer ( the wife can drive home).... well behaved kids welcomed, outdoor seats, and tables, the right place for summer or brisk winter walk

Thank loser r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWing2014, Owner at The King Ethelbert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for taking the time to let others know. Your support means the world to us.
We hope to see you again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lovely atmosphere and very friendly staff. They also do great food and if the car park is full you can park across the road in the country park car park at a reasonable cost.

Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWing2014, Owner at The King Ethelbert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for taking the time to let others know. Your support means the world to us.
We hope to see you again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a roast after a bike ride from Herne Bay. The roast is only £5.95 & you pay for what you get. The meat is mass produced, the veg is nice but the potatoes were dry. However for £5.95 I couldn't expect more. It was fine. Wouldn't rush back but great spot for a drink after a long cycle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amandamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King Ethelbert Inn also viewed

 
Herne Bay, Kent
 

Been to The King Ethelbert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing