We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great food”

Mortimers Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 140 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We visit Herne Bay at least once a month and always look forward to eating our lunch here knowing that we won't be disappointed.
There is always a good selection on the specials board as well as the usual menu. My dad loves the cauliflower cheese and despite being quite a fussy eater, he always finishes every last mouthful and says how much he enjoyed it afterwards!
The staff are very warm and welcoming and seem eager to make our visit as pleasant as possible, a friendly attitude goes a long way and it is always appreciated by me and my family!
Our meal was served quickly with spotless crockery and cutlery and the interior decor made a very relaxing atmosphere. We also appreciated the extra pot of hot water with our tea, a nice old fashioned touch that is rarely offered these days!
So far, we have only tried a few meals on the menu, all of which we enjoyed, but judging by the wonderful meals that the other customers were eating on the nearby tables, the quality seems to be consistent, so I might be persuaded to try something different next time, but I think my dad will stick to the cauliflower cheese , solely because he loves it so much!! (He would be devastated if they took it off the menu!!)
So if you are visiting Herne Bay, I strongly recommend you give this place a try, you will not be disappointed!

Thank RuddyduckKent_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBartlett65, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review, we always strive to provide a warm friendly environment in which to eat, and pride ourselves on the staff , service and good home cooked fresh food.
Its very rewarding for all of us when we get such positive feedback.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 327 of 346 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

Highly recommend warm friendly family inviting atmosphere. Richard the owner is a lovely man. Currently im very careful what I am eating and was offered a healthier English breakfast. Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slimwithalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBartlett65, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments, Chantal the family and i do aim to provide a comfortable, friendly service providing good wholesome and freshly cooked food, and now have invcuded a healthier breakfast choice to customers on our new menu.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Dropped in on the spur of the moment. Received a warm welcome and a lovely ham, egg and chips lunch. Good value too. Will definitely be back in the future.

Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We go to Mortimers most saturdays for our breakfast ,always clean and tidy and staff are very friendly.We do not even place an order as they know what we have and tea is brought straight to the table. Brilliant.
Bev & Mick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bev53_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBartlett65, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.We always appreciate comments from regular customers who we all get to know . It is very much a family restaurant and we feel that all of our customers feel at home at Mortimers.
Thanks again for your comments very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Friendly staff put tables together for our group. the best looking thing on the menu was the breakfast so I had the large, it was fine the eggs were cooked well but a little too much oil for my taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mortimers Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mortimers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing