We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Homely”

Mortimers Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 139 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful home cooked food. The owners and staff are really friendly. I would recomend their breakfasts. Best brekky in herne bay

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AO90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBartlett65, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2015

Thanks for such lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 321 of 331 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me and my family have been here on a few occasions, it is very clean, offer a good variety of food. The staff are friendly and welcoming the food is always upto a high standard would definitely go again and would highly recommend to others

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabart, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, it is always a pleasure to read positive reviews and all comments are fed back to the staff who with Chantal and I aim to make it a pleasurable experience for our customers.We look forward to serving you again in the future.
regards
Richard & Chantal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The café was clean and staff helpful. Everything is neat and well kept ,so far so good. The down side was that (maybe because we were quite late around 13.40 pm for lunch)was that the food was overcooked my liver was hard and rather tasteless and the vegetables were also somewhat overdone. My wife found her meal acceptable but only average The cost of the meal and drinks was very reasonable. Maybe better luck next time?. By the way only cash and not cards are accepted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabart, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we're dissapointed that you didn't enjoy your meal on this occasion , I'm sure that had we known about the liver at the time of service we could and would have offered you a replacement meal.We do appreciate any feedback and look forward to you visiting us again, the liver dish is one of our most popular specials and I'm sorry that your meal was not up to our normal standard on this occasion, but do come and visit us again.
Regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We popped into Mortimers for breakfast, 1st time we had been in there.
Very good breakfast, well cooked and reasonably priced. As it was late morning people were eating lunch and that also looked very nice - we will definitely return to try some!
Service friendly, very clean, we would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike_CKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabart, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the breakfast that you had , we look forward to serving you lunch when you pop in next time.
Regards Richard & Chantal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Mum has been using Mortimer`s for some time now so it seemed an obvious choice to celebrate her 90th birthday celebrations there. With family joining her from all over Kent and Somerset we arrived to find that as usual Richard ,Chantal, family and staff had really pulled the stops out for Gwen :- Birthday Banner on the main window , balloons and flower arrangements on the table and a little pressie for Mum as well. We had arranged a special small menu and the food come out efficiently served , hot ,well presented and of course excellent.This was followed by some great puds!!! The lights were then dimmed , the birthday cake brimming with candles served accompanied by the whole restaurant -staff and customers alike singing "happy birthday"to Gwen. Mum had a really fantastic time and a great deal of this was down to the effort of Mortimers. Well done to Richard and the team and anybody going to Herne Bay needs to find this enjoyable restaurant and use it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabart, Owner at Mortimers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you Steve for your positive comments in your review, it was a pleasure to have Gwen & the family at Mortimers to celebrate her 90th Birthday, what an achievement .Chantal & I and the staff were so pleased that she really enjoyed the day , and a big thank you to Lyn for the beautiful flowers that she popped in with on Satuday.
We aim to provide a warm & friendly family atmosphere at Mortimers and Gwens Birthday Celebration was a great example to us of a family getting together , having good food and it gave the place a lovely atmosphere to dine in , we had a few nice comments from other diners who joined in with " Happy Birthday" also , so thanks once again for giving us the opportunity to make her 90th Birthday so special.
Regards
Richard & Chantal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mortimers Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mortimers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing