We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Westgrange House”

Westgrange House B & B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westgrange House B & B
Ranked #9 of 10 Herne Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked in for just the one night. Didn't know the area so didn't know what to expect!!! Needn't have worried. The room was lovely, clean, decorated well.The bed was even more comfortable than my own!!
Tony and Margaret, the owners, were so friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed too much for them.
Next morning the dining room was laid out for breakfast, choice of cereals, fruit, youghurts, followed by choice of cooked breakfast then toast with jams, marmalades etc etc....
We eventually had a 3hr journey home but didn't have to stop for lunch!!!!
Will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Had a twin room that looked out over the front drive. Was very quiet and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeannette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Westgrange House B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were visiting family in the area and thought that we would try something different this time and Westgrange house was different as were the hosts. We were enthusiastically and effusively greeted and shown to our room. The room was a good size with a large comfortable bed dressed with good quality bedding, the view from the bedroom window was across an unkempt garden onward to the open countryside. The television was amazing as I have never seen such a small flat screen TV and I have pictured it showing the normal sized remote control for scale. The other photograph shows the height of the step to the shower, so high that it was difficult to get in and out of the shower. The shower, WC and wash basin were located in what the smallest "bathroom" I have ever experienced in a Hotel or Guest House.
General housekeeping is grubby, not dirty but in need of a dust and polish. Breakfast seems to be the hosts speciality and guests are encouraged to eat as much as possible, and their friendly enthusiasm wins them points, also the WI FI is excellent and included in the slightly overpriced room price of GBP 85.00 per night that we were charged

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArroyoResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just stayed Sat night 10/8/13.
The hosts made us so welcome and went the extra mile wherever they could.
Lovely quiet location, Tasty breakfast, rooms were very homely and spotlessly clean.
ensuit was snug but again spotless and nice shower.
We were even given a ride into town and back.
Would recommend and will be using this place again.
Thank you
Steve & Jayne x

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevesmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were booked into another hotel for the night but unfortunately the other place messed up so we were in Canterbury with no where to stay. We managed to get a telephone number for Westgrange House and called them up. They said they could fit us in & they would be able to accommodate our dog. They were given half an hours notice of our impending arrival, when we arrived we were welcomed with a much needed cup of tea & we were upgraded to a better room, which suited our needs more.
Tony & Margaret were very friendly, they recommended a local pub where our dog would be welcome inside & we could get something to eat.
Our breakfast was A-MAZE-ING! we had lots of choice of cereal, you could have fresh fruit, yogurt & fruit juice, cooked breakfast & toast. There was also a choice of jams too. We had a cooked breakfast & you could really taste the flavours of the food they used & it was cooked perfectly.
I had trouble using the shower in our room as the step up into it was too high & my disability did not allow my leg to lift that far & Tony and Margaret offered me to use another shower in another room even though it was prepared for a new guest to arrive knowing it would make more work for themselves. They even told us that next time we went back they would put a double bed in the room with the shower I used, again making more work for themselves. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xStephanie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Westgrange House Bed & Breakfast when we were attending a wedding in Whitstable. The welcome could not have been any friendlier - the family were so lovely and polite and the owner even offered to give us a lift to the wedding! Our room was clean and comfortable and the owner allowed us to check-in 2 hours earlier than the stated time. There was plenty of parking even though the B&B was completely full. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Travelling with three other friends, we booked several rooms for the night at this b&b as it was a convenient stop between Canterbury and the Whitstable area. We were warmly welcomed by one of the owners, but were put off before we went in by the sight of a number of cereal boxes sitting by the window to the right of the front door. Once inside we realized that this area would be where we would have breakfast the next morning as it contained just several tables and chairs. The rooms were small but well equipped and the beds were comfortable with impeccable linen on them and the bathrooms were tiny but adequate. However, there was quite a bit of noise fairly late at night and early in the morning coming from the kitchen downstairs and from other bedrooms in the house. Later on we realized that the stairs and the area where we came in, which was the only area for guests to sit in the house, were very dusty and unkempt. The outside front garden of the house was passable, but again there were no small table and chairs to sit on if one wished to go outside. The back garden was an absolute tip with rubbish spilling over and it seemed to be a dumping ground for obsolete household items.

On the plus side, the owners were very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was ample and well cooked.

But we all felt that the price of £80 for each double room was exhorbitant given the low standard of the accommodation and it was also rather embarrassing for me as this was the first time my fellow companions had stayed in a b&b in the U.K.. I tried to convince them that there were many other very nice, clean and comfortable places all around the country and that it wasn't always necessary to book a hotel. I hope I succeeded; they looked rather dubious about the whole idea in future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary26935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

V disappointed certainly not a 4 star stay - we wonder how on earth they got this rating! Nothing seems to have changed from negative comments last year- the mound of earth and unkempt appearance as you arrive, the odd dining experience at the bottom of the stairs, the cleaning still not finished at 4.15pm, the lack of info including lack of fire/safety advice, dated furniture, no hair dryer,shampoo etc which you expect for 4 stars. This accommodation would be fine as a lower star rating and therefore lower price. The smell of smoke meant that we had to leave the windows open on a very cold windy night. The owners couldn't understand our complaint about the smoke but it was evident throughout and was very unpleasant. The owners were however, friendly and the water was hot. Breakfast no more than ok. Generally not 4star.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herne Bay
3.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
888 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
398 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
737 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgrange House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgrange House B & B

Address: 42 Busheyfield Road, Herne Bay CT6 7LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Herne Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Herne Bay
Price Range: $114 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgrange House B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
warm and comfortable Semi-rural red brick family run B&B with 2 large doubles, a large family room with e-suites, a mid- sized double & family/twin room with En-suites. All with TV F/view, Wi/Fi, Tea making facilities. Early/late Breakfasts can be arranged. Ample off road parking. Business rooms available please ask for details. A bus stop at end of Busheyfields Road to H/Bay & C/Bury. Train station in Herne Bay Arrangements can be made for transfers. Canterbury 20min drive. Herne Bay less then 10 min. Whitstable less the 20 min. Easy access to motorway to London & Thanet. Good pub grub, wild life parks & Garden centre are all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Westgrange House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgrange House B & B Herne Bay, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing