We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Have Been a Bad Day”
Review of George & Dragon

George & Dragon
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Headcorn
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
282 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Must Have Been a Bad Day”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I can't even comment on the food, as we never got that far. We arrived to complete chaos. We couldn't work out if it was table service as no one seemed to be tending to diners. We asked at the bar as it really wasn't clear where the diners were supposed to sit. As another reviewer commented, the bar was almost hidden by lots of drunk and loud people, and it was only 6pm. All the tables in the bar area where littered with newspapers, glasses and plates. The place was a mess. Finally we ambushed a girl who looked like a waitress. She made no eye contact, and seemed totally confused about where to seat us. She then thrust a photocopied piece of paper at us and walked off. We got up and walked out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    74
    24
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
maidstone
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“They were busy but still the service was good !”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The pub was very busy but that didn't stop the staff smiling and passing the time of day with us. The food, and choices were excellent, and good value - worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The George & Dragon is right on our doorstep and have been a few times but most recently with friends before Christmas. The food is good and the staff attentive. It has a good atmosphere.
I have been known to go with my daughter when my hubby and son-in-law are watching back to back footie at home! Weather permiting we like to sit in the beer garden with a bottle of wine and a some lunch.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cranbrook Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Foul language peppered the bar”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Went for a drink recently, loud, foul and abusive language came from some drinkers at the bar. No attempt be staff to bring this to an end. Shame, not the place I would want to bring a lady to. Seems to me this establishment has inherited the clientel of the now defunct Kings Head

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Verbierandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub -fabulous food”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Often eat here and food is always delicious. Lovely cosy atmosphere, lovely ales on tap and local cider available as well as cream teas

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnSargent65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George & Dragon also viewed

 

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing