We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The King Charles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Blyth, Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a conference - we last stayed here 21 years ago and had a bit of an idea of what to expect - the outside of the building is a bit strange but looked better than last time and there have been a lot of improvements - the staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was adequate new tvs and the hairdryer and tea tray etc (no biscuits) all looked fairly new, bathroom had been refurbished so that was fine apart from the towels which were very thin and worn (I have thrown better towels out) hand wash/shower gel dispensers on wall so no extras ie shower hats. Bed linen was clean but a bit worn - cigarrete holes in douvet cover. Carpets perhaps could do with renewing and also the woodchip paper on the walls. The dining room was very nice - only had breakfast there and that was very good, service was prompt and good choice of food, would have eaten there on Sunday evening but the restaurant was closed. The Bar restaurant had a good menu and the food and service was good both at lunch time and the evening although quite small and tables close together. Bar/reception lounge area was good and spacious with plenty of tables and chairs for people to meet and chat, the meal in the Function room on the Sat evening was very good quality and the service excellent. The inner outside gardens were very nice - changed from 21 years ago when there was an old swimming pool there, could hear water feature in the bathroom but it did not disturb us in the bedroom. We felt the food/dinning room and bathroom were an improvement to our last visit and it was evident that improvement were ongoing. For the price it is probably good value as long as you don't expect little extras in the room - beds were comfortable. The hotel is handy for Chatham Docks you can walk and the Royal Engineers Museum is just across the road and there is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.
It is always good to hear that guests recognise the changes we are trying to make, and the improvements that are happening in the hotel.
I hope it will not be another 21 years before you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    242
    97
    49
    48
See reviews for
147
190
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Never sure what to expect when staying at a hotel for the first time, and for the great sunday night price of £30 per room (including breakfast) it was truly wonderful.
Friendly and informative reception staff who pointed out where everything was before heading to our spotlessly clean rooms, well impressed that the toilet seat was covered with a 'just sanitised' sealed label, you don't get that everywhere, the dressing table was lit by spotlights, another plus, and the bed very comfortable with ample pillows, with spare ones and blanket if needed, lot's of milk, tea, and coffee sachets.
Had a pleasant roast chicken meal in the evening, couldn't fault it for the very good price on all food, breakfast included on our sunday night special, always a plus for me as a porridge lover to see a keg-full at the breakfast bar, cumberland sausage and free-range eggs cooked how you desire also.
A full ten out of ten in every respect, will definitely visit again, also a great location for Chatham Dockyard, Outlet centre, and Dickens world.

Room Tip: asked for a quiet rooms on upper floor and that was exactly what we got, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am very happy that you were satisfied with your recent stay at the hotel. We are a family run business and although we cannot compete with the larger corporate chains of hotels on budgets and advertising, we do pride ourselves on our service, cleanliness and word of mouth recommendations.
We do try to offer value for money in both our bar and restaurant, and I am happy that you enjoyed the choices we offer.
I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West country
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Read a few reviews before staying at this hotel for the weekend and was not expecting too much before we arrived. How wrong I was. Greeted at reception by friendly and welcoming staff. The room itself was well appointed and comfortable. Good sized bathroom with large shower. Importantly it was very quiet at night. The bar meal was excellent and a very good price. From the outside the hotel did not look very imposing but there was a large car parking area and several lovely courtyards that looked inviting. I agree with another reviewer that the breakfast was tasty, plentiful and the staff were friendly and efficient. Attended a function on the Saturday night and expected the usual drop in standards associated with catering for large groups. Again how wrong I was. The food was delicious and hot. The staff were delightful and efficient. This is definitely a hotel I would stay in again and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area. Such fantastic value and quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am very happy that you were satisfied with your recent stay at the hotel. We are a family run business and although we cannot compete with the larger corporate chains of hotels on budgets and advertising, we do pride ourselves on our service, cleanliness and word of mouth recommendations.
We do try to offer value for money in both our bar and restaurant, and I am happy that you enjoyed the choices we offer.
I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenhell@aol.com
Level Contributor
238 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

For £60 a night a double room this was the cheapest and only hotel available in the area so was not expecting much but was surprised how good it was. We got a warm welcome on arrival and our room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was tasty, plentiful and efficiently organised. The location was ideal for us being a short 10 mins walk to Gillingham station and town centre and a 15 min walk to the Chatham dockyard museums. The outside view of the hotel won't win any design awards but everything else about this place was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am very happy that you were satisfied with your recent stay at the hotel. We are a family run business and although we cannot compete with the larger corporate chains of hotels on budgets and advertising, we do pride ourselves on our service, cleanliness and word of mouth recommendations.
We are hoping to improve the outside of the builing in due course, but are currently refurbishing all of our bedrooms.
I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Martin and I had our wedding reception here. It was easy, stress free, excellent quality food, superior service and more than we could have asked for. Fiona and the wedding team took care of everything, including decorating the room!

The staff, who served our meals and drinks, were excellently trained and so polite and professional.

Although we didn't not stay our friends and family who did said the rooms were excellent, breakfast was lovely and the receptionist staff could not do enough for them.

I can not recommend this hotel highly enough and we are so grateful that they made our day so special. Thank you all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlysHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I would like to offer my congratulations to the both of you as you start your time together.
I am very happy that our wedding team succeeded in making your day special, and I hope that you will visit us again on one of you anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Lincs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for five nights last week and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. Excellent base for exploring the local tourist attractions and only a short walk from Gillingham High Street and its many shops. The rooms were clean and comfortable but in need of re-decorating and the doors were difficult to close and might disturb other guests with their clunking shut. The Hotel also has some smoker friendly rooms.
The restauarant was clean and the food was good quality for a budget hotel with unlimited tea and coffee. Restaurant staff were very friendly and welcoming, my only complaint being that the many contractors that stay here were allowed in wearing work boots which is unhygienic and a problem that needs addressing. Reception Staff friendly and efficient. Booked online the Hotel offers superb value for money and being family run is a pleasant change from the normal hotel chains,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capybara_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are a family run business and although we cannot compete with the larger corporate chains of hotels on budgets and advertising, we do pride ourselves on our service, cleanliness and word of mouth recommendations.
We always try to offer value for money, especially in the current economic climate, and it is always nice when that is appreciated.
I am glad that you found our staff helpful, and I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for one night. It was booked through work. We arrived late and it was full of people who had obviously been in the bar all evening and were hassling the receptionist whilst we were trying to book in. She was very flustered and I had to tell her that she'd issued the same room twice. When I got to my room it was clean and tidy. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was nice and hot and the towels were clean. Having the name of the hotel carved into the bed headboard was interesting. The hotel needs to get updated and decide if its going to be a low rent hotel or go upmarket - turning into the car park and seeing motorway services trucks there was not very encouraging.

Room Tip: One without the noise of the water feature!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are a family run business and although we cannot compete with the larger corporate chains of hotels on budgets and advertising, we do pride ourselves on our service, cleanliness and word of mouth recommendations.
I am sorry that you had some problems when checking into the hotel, and I hope that it didnt spoil your stay with us.
We are currently refurbishing all of our bedrooms, and we will always try to offer the best value for money that we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gillingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
1.1 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Gillingham Business Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Charles Hotel

Property: The King Charles Hotel
Address: Brompton Road, Gillingham ME7 5QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The King Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Hotel is a privately owned, modern, 97 bedroomed hotel, with a comfortable restaurant, bar, conference and banqueting facilities. Situated in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent, the King Charles Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London and the Channel Ports via the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, we are also an ideal base to explore Kent and South East England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Hotel
King Charles Gillingham
The King Charles Hotel Gillingham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing