We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy Sunday!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Head Harvester

The Queens Head Harvester
Ranked #85 of 112 Restaurants in Gillingham
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Queen's Head Harvester in Gillingham food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Gillingham, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Chatham, Rainham and Wigmore, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Busy Sunday!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I went here last weekend on a Sunday lunchtime - was good to see somewhere that didn't limit its menu to a carvery!

Although the menu is general pub fare, as expected, it was really busy and the service was prompt and polite. The salad bar is always a big favourite of mine, and I was really pleased to see so many kids and families filling their bowls with healthy food!

I had the piri-piri chicken skewers for lunch, accompanied by a VERY hot sauce, but I love my heat so definitely enjoyed it.

Overall, the food was fine and the price was very reasonable. Would consider coming back again if I ever got peckish on a Sunday!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hungryboy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Head Harvester, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Queens Head Harvester. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    69
    59
    48
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Run down and tending to poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This USED to be a good venue.... Now sadly deteriorated. Had lunch here today, nothing special about the food. It was acceptable.... The company was MUCH better! When I came here 40 years ago, it was a very good pub/restaurant in private hands. It has lost all the ambience. Just another indifferent chain restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sapdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Head Harvester, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food but dirty and mucky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

A great range of food and my steak was delicious. Service basic and didn't have to wait too long but when I walked across the restaurant my shoes stuck to the floor! Yuk! The table was just as sticky. The salad bar area was very mucky with lots of spillages which went unwiped whilst we were there. The toilets were very dirty and lots of graffiti over the doors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ikeajunkie241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Head Harvester, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love a good Harv!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

25 minute wait, but totally worth it! The chef here is great, my chicken breast was soooo succulent. They were very busy but we didn't wait long at all for our food. The only thing that we had to fault was that we ordered more drinks and they never came! Would definitely return here and you can now ring and reserve a table - will make it much easier in future! Great little Harvester. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Plumhead21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Head Harvester, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality food and amazingly quick service, makes this the best of experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My partner and I have been to this Harvester many times and never had a bad meal or poor service. The food is quality and what you would expect with the salad bar being constantly stocked. The service is quick considering this venue is always very busy. Would definitely recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dltalbot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Head Harvester, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to our Restaurant.
Regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queens Head Harvester also viewed

 

Been to The Queens Head Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing