We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and lovely meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Bowl

Hollywood Bowl
Ranked #4 of 112 Restaurants in Gillingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service and lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We went here for my nan's birthday and we had a really enjoyable evening. The atmosphere was good even though it was quiet on a weekday evening and the lady that served us went above and beyond to make it a good meal. She overheard us talking about nan's birthday and bought out a fake cake with a sparkler on top at the end of the meal. She also accomodatedd the kids awkward requests and made excellent suggestions.

The food iteself was very good. Only three minor criticisms. We ordered two medium steaks and one rare and they came out the other way round. Two of us swapped and all enjoyed them, i was exepecting the quality to be a little low due to the price/portion sizes but was pleasantly surprised that the steak was not at all chewy. One of the starters came out worng but they quickly sorted it. One of the kids didn't like the BBQ sauce, it tasted more like plum sauce but was still tasty. Other than that the ribs were lovely, the portions huge and the ice cream to die for!!! Everything came out hot and well presented. Even the salad and dressing with the starters was really tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    66
    36
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hadn't been to this restaurant for a number of years, and now it also has a lot of Greek dishes on the menu, all excellent. The portions are quite large though, so be careful when ordering - and ask for a small coffee if that's what you want otherwise you get a huge cup! An interesting fusion of American and Greek in the atmosphere, but certainly a worth visiting. Someone had their birthday when we were there - and that was recognised in style by the restaurant. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Aylesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, united kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to this restaurant last night and can't believe what a hidden gem this is in gillingham. The food is excellent, such value for money. My husband had the dogs bowl dinner which literally comes in a dog bowl and I had the big clucker (chicken and bacon to you and me). The portion sizes are amazing, could not fault the food at all. The staff are amazingly helpful and we would definitely be going back and would recommend to all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just been for a meal to The Hollywood Bowl, first time visit and would definitely recommend a visit. Great food, reasonably priced. 3 of our party had the big empire burger, came home with a t shirt each, one also had the pigs trough dessert, plenty enough for 2 to share. Lots of good choices to eat on the menu and staff were very friendly and helpful. Owner was passing through tables to ensure customers were ok and was very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nyree99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant with American movie theme”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited this restaurant twice now the first time was on farthers day and recently on 15th August. The menu offers American and Greek food all very well cooked, on both visits veryone has enjoyed the food and the staff are very polite but the owner needs to learn to smile.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing