We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding night”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Faversham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our wedding night”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the sun in on the night of our wedding. The room was excellent, Both the room itself and the onsuit bathroom were very large indeed. The room was very clean and comfortable with a nice choice of decor. the bed was comfortabel and the staff were friendly and helpful. overall a really nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lomas_ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    69
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
129
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We came to visit our daughter and grandchildren. She selected the Sun Inn and we were extremely happy with everything. The room was great, the food was wonderful and staff was friendly and attentive. When we come back in the future this is where we want to stay.t

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Historical stay for those who love an old English pub with old English quirkiness. Expected a noisy night sleep from late night revellers but was pleasantly surprised. Not a sound. Maybe due to us enjoying the pubs ambiance until closing. Also adverse weather conditions kept revellers out of the beer garden which the room overlooked.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NormanbyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great central location. Room thoughtfully equipped including iron and board, lots of toiletries, hair dryer.
Checking in wasn't smooth as the chap behind the bar couldn't leave the bar so I had to return later and then it was all a bit random.
I would definitely recommend it and stay again but ask for a different room as my room overlooked the pub garden so people were out late drinking, talking and (YUK) smoking under my open window which was very unpleasant. The room was overheated and so the window had to be open.
So mostly positive except the smoke.

Room Tip: don't choose a window overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank carothomas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
309 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

If you would like to stay at an inn oozing with character & history, look no further. I arrived in the evening around 20:45 after many hours of traveling, and they let me know right away the kitchen would be closing at 9:00, so I was able to quickly put in an order for some supper. I enjoyed the meal sitting in the most quaint "old pub" room in front of the fireplace (not in use) - dark wood, dark leather, looking like it was 1913 or 1813 instead of 2013. And to imagine people were there enjoying the inn and pub hundreds of years before that, even. (The only thing I was disappointed about was the wifi not working, as I wanted to Skype with my family to show it all to them.) My room was large, comfortable, clean and attractively furnished. It looked out on the beer garden, which could possibly get noisy, but there was no one out there during my visit. I would gladly stay here again. Wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of town. The public car park is directly behind the pub in Leslie Smith Drive and costs £4 per day. Room 6 was large and comfortable, with nice extra touches such as dental and shaving kits and a sewing repair pack. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent, especially their steak and ale pie which was the best I've tasted.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annfzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were welcomed very warmly by the bar staff on our arrival and shown to our room, which was lovely. The bed was huge and really comfortable, and we appreciated the little extra touches including a complimentary toothbrush set and sewing kit. The location is great, right in the centre of Faversham and we only stayed one night, so the parking wasn't a problem - not sure what you do if you need to stay longer as the long stay carpark has a limit of 12 hours.
We didn't eat at the pub in the evening as they don't serve food on Sunday evening, but the breakfast in the morning was great. Freshly cooked and a good selection of cereals etc. Overall we were really pleased.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faversham
1.3 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Railway Hotel
Railway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Faversham
95 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
9.2 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
8.3 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Property: Sun Inn
Address: 10 West Street, Faversham ME13 7JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Faversham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Faversham
Sun Inn Faversham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing