We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Autumn Break”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Faversham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Late Autumn Break”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Delightful old pub and restaurant recently refurbished to a high standard. Comfortable bed and excellent en-suite facilities. Delicious food and first class service in the restaurant both in the evening and for morning breakfast. Spotlessly clean throughout and the added pleasure of a wood fire burning in the pub area on cold days. Wide range of Shepherd & Neame beers and lagers on tap. Friendly and helpful staff at all times.
A joy for us on a 2-night break including the Shepherd & Neame brewery tour. Highly recommended !!

Helpful?
Thank John815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    72
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
133
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Hotel rooms modernised and fully refurbished to a very high standard. Good TV, shower. Beds comfortable. Menu offers good choice for evening meal and excellent breakfast from 7.15. Have stayed many times before and will come even more now given its new look.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiraz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

stayed in February for 1 night the room was ok but the plumbing was very noisy .We were overlooking the beer garden but had no trouble with noise from there .We ate in the restaurant on the evening we stayed and could not fault it the food was fab !The breakfast the next morning was good but the coffee let it down .Overall we would come back !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had a couple of nights' break and its central position in pedestrianised area is perfect - and we were delighted in discovering Faversham. Staff couldn't have been more helpful through our stay. When we checked in, it was (believe it or not) a heatwave (!) and room 6 on the top floor was very hot - so when we asked if we could be moved for the second night - no problem, and room 3 was spacious and cooler. Reasonable hotel price too. Shame the hotel doesn't have a car park, but there is a council one immediately behind the hotel through the beer garden, with the cheaper (free) option of street parking pretty close by.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on first rather than second floor if weather is hot - it's an historic old building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A 16th.Century Inn, composed of three adjoining properties. Visitors need to realise that this is an inn, as opposed to a hotel, but – boy, WHAT an Inn. The inn is in a pedestrianized area without its own car park but the public car park is literally outside the gate to the beer garden. All the centre of Faversham is within walking distance, as is the railway station. Our room was very clean, comfortable, with all the amenities that you would expect. There was a problem with hot water when we arrived but this was immediately dealt with by Brendan, the manager. The age of the building means that stairs can be narrow and twisty and this should be borne in mind if you have difficulty in carrying cases. Floor surfaces were often on slightly different levels and a bit uneven but, once again, what you would expect in a building of this age and, in our view, adds to the appeal of the Inn. Staff were friendly and professional throughout our stay. A Shepherds Neame Brewery Inn so there was a good selection of beers and wines. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent in presentation, taste and service. Cooked breakfast in the morning was freshly prepared and in very good quantity – the scrambled eggs and sausage were particularly fine. In all an EXCELLENT stay – we are already planning our return trip next year. Well done, Brendan and all the staff and thank you.

Room Tip: We had a twin at the front of the inn overlooking the pedestrianised street. People could certainl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Any hotel where you have to check in at a real English pub bar is a winner in my book!
this is an old (very old) building and each of the rooms is well decorated, but very different. The included breakfast was very good quality although I was a little less impressed with the bar food that is served throughout the day.
If you are tall, you need to watch your head in many parts of the hotel.

Even at the weekends they make a real effort to keep the noise down after 11pm, before that it can be a little noisy.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms that are not above the kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BruceinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The central location makes this place ideal for visiting Faversham (and do take a 30 min stroll down to the dock-yard - it's very picturesque, with plenty of plaques on walls explaining the history).

Unfortunately, the local council's draconian attitude towards cars and parking makes staying at the Sun Inn less than convenient. There's no on-site parking (as the pub is on a pedestrianised road), and the nearest car-park is time-limited - with the local "penguins" up bright and early to slap tickets on any car without a fresh ticket before 8 AM (we know, as we saw them!). We ended up parking in a street 10 mins walk away, which could be an issue for some would-be guests.

There were also some temporary problems with the TV - namely, dreadful picture quality (which should be rectified soon with a new feed, according to a note from the management). The wi-fi is also weak to non-existent. While these are hardly disastrous issues, they'd be less irksome if the management made some kind of discount available until they are rectified.

The room was pretty good - ok beds, shower etc. The breakfast was also pretty good (the haddock and poached eggs is recommended), though some of the crockery was a bit grubby.

Overall, an ok place with friendly staff but with a few issues that may leave some guests a little disappointed. Would we stay again ? Probably not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerbilator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faversham
1.3 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Railway Hotel
Railway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Faversham
95 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
8.3 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Property: Sun Inn
Address: 10 West Street, Faversham ME13 7JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Faversham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Faversham
Sun Inn Faversham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing