We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
43
50
23
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
50
23
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub full english stayed here carriage restaurant clean and friendly hotel train travellers pleasant place friendly locals traditional hotel bar billiards poster bed nice bathroom stay there again victorian charm christmas period excellent stay booked rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 127 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2019 via mobile

Decor is very outdated carpet is a trip hazard manager mel is extremely rude and unhelpful however the girls behind the bar are more than helpful and make this place all that it is and without them I would of left and booked elsewhere

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank B8033NP6661112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

More or less a random pick off the internet for a one-night business stay, the Railway Hotel proved to be a gem. (Ideal for train travellers naturally, but also easy access from M2.) Parking was easy and the welcome was friendly and efficient. Room spotless, airy, comfortable. Pub downstairs, so may get a tad noisy at weekends, but quiet enough mid-week. (Bar staff a complete joy.) Restaurant attached - didn't use for evening meal, but a fine 'Full English' for breakfast. Decent price too. You'd never mistake that you're staying in some luxury hotel on a Caribbean island - but anyway you're not; you're looking for a sound, safe, pleasant place for business.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LINKLINK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

I'm a Railway Enthusiast, so decided to stay at the Railway Hotel, which if nothing else convenient to the Station. It's really a pub with rooms and an ajoining restaurant.
On walking through the door, it's obvious that this property needs some TLC.
Unusually, I'd opted for a single room which was frankly quite cheap. Breakfast is £10 extra. I don't need a lot of space, but getting into the room was a bit of a chore with a wierd arrangement of doors. It was clean but very tired.
The bathroom was tiny also with a shower that felt like pin pricks.
The only redeeming feature for me was the very good (and free) WiFi.

Room tip: Don't choose the single room.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_T429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

Popped into this pub after having a meal in town,turned out to be a great choice.Saw in the new year surrounded by friendly faces and big smiles.Great atmosphere,special shout out to the human dynamo behind the bar.Cheers!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 536billt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2018 via mobile

Charming pub in a good location.

Parking is free when you stay overnight which is a nice touch.

I stayed in Room 7 which is charming, but do beware that the shower is quite small. Good supply of hot water though!

Breakfast is an optional extra (not included in room costs) and not knowing when I would wake up I decided to skip it as there are plenty of places in town.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank chrisramen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel H, Manager at Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2019

Thank you kindly for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews