We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable Hotel”
Review of Railway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Faversham
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adorable Hotel”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here after a birthday party and came in very late and left very early. We did not have time to use the shower and that appears to be the only complaint most people have after staying here. I thought the hotel was adorable. The bed was big and very clean. There were towels laid out for us and tea and coffee waiting when we arrived. I did not hear any street noise or any railway noise which was quite surprising due to the proximity of the station. I think the age and feel of the hotel is very charming. If you are looking for a cold modern contemporary hotel I think it will be obvious that you are in the wrong place. This one has so much charm. The full English breakfast that was included in the price was great. It was served cooked to order with Tea or Coffee and Fruit and Cereal was available. We will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelbyrge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
36
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Some of the rooms are significantly larger and better appointed than others (Room 2 was delightful, room 2 adequate). Bathrooms are pretty basic and showers not very good. Room 7 and either 6 or 8 opposite is rather noisy too, with TV from other room audible and firedoor meaning much banging of doors if you are unlucky enough to have a late arriving / early leaving neighbour.

Breakfast was great, locally sourced nicely cooked food.

Dinner, quasi adventurous menu but, rather oddly, whichever (quite well executed) main you have, whether chicken, meat or fish, comes served on top of the same pile of mediocre vegetables and surrounded by apparently the same sauce / gravy. Also despite small number of covers, kitchen / front of house need staggered bookings to cope...

The pub itself is a very pleasant place to sip a few pints and Faversham is a lovely town.

At 80 quid-ish a room it is not expensive, but not cheap enough to forgive all the faults. You could do worse, but I will look a little further afield to see if I could do better if I am staying in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sandy_abstentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorizia, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The pub is nice, serve good beers, and also breakfast is excellent, with homemade products. Rooms could (and should) be more clean, fornitures were sticky and with dust. Unfortunately it's just in front of the railway station, so it can be noisy in early morning.

Helpful?
6 Thank Davidik75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

2 night stay on business. Stayed at the beginning of the week so the restaurant was not open. Very clean comfortable room, a bit noisy with traffic given the location, friendly service & very good breakfast with local produce & homemade jams. Overall very good & woudl consider a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiggyB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Railway Hotel in Faversham Kent is a mature hotel, opposite the railway station. We have stayed there on two occasions. There is no problem of noise from the station or trains. There is off road parking available.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. The en suite shower worked for my wife with no problems, but wouldn’t work for me. Ho Hum!

The landlord and his lady could not be more helpful.

The variety of choice at breakfast was excellent, as was my full English breakfast.

We also had Sunday Lunch at the hotel in the restaurant called The Carriage.
The food was superb! Recommended!

We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wits_End_Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed a few times over the years whilst in the area on business. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are warm and comfortable but are let down by the showers. I have given up on a couple of occasions and just had strip down washes. However i would happily stay there again as the pro's heavily outwiegh the cons. Beer in the pub downstairs is well kept.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestJohnBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night recently. The room was good for the price, well located and clean. The staff was helpful and allowed us to check-in early which was greatly appreciated after a very long flight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NConthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faversham
1.3 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
6.7 mi away
The Shurland Hotel
The Shurland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eastchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Faversham Creek Hotel
Faversham Creek Hotel
#1 of 15 in Faversham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#3 of 15 in Faversham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hotel

Property: Railway Hotel
Address: Preston Street, Faversham ME13 8PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Faversham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway Hotel is a classic spacious Victorian hotel with seven en-suite bedrooms. Each room is comfortably appointed with ample tea/coffee making facilities, free unlimited wireless broadband and large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway Hotel Faversham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing