We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, chairs bad”
Review of Macknade Cafe

Macknade Cafe
Ranked #1 of 12 Quick Bites in Faversham
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Spotted this place on way to Faversham and stopped for a snack. Huge selection of splendid food and drink in the food hall and excellent lunch grub... Only downside was the really uncomfortable chairs! Old small hard wooden things! We did hear the staff (who were really good) telling another lady who was complaining about them as she left, that they had a cushion available out back and she should ask. Not really viable unless you know in advance and insufficient for the dozens of customers there.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank cormallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 239 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

I have been Comming here for a number of years, i I have to confess I really don’t like food served on anything other than a material that’s dishwasher proof so it can be hygienically cleaned !!

And I have never had complaint over the food, and it’s another one of my pet hates Paying for food before consumption.

But guys servicing food one scabby pieces of wood is no good for you or me and the local authority would fine you for this !!!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank richardj1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

Visited whilst on holiday and read the great reviews which prompted us to stop.

The location is great with lots of parking and a lovely farm shop with loads of produce. The cafe has a lot of seating with split over a few levels but has a great atmosphere and friendly and cheerful staff.

The food was unfortunately disappointing. The menu has lots of promise but we found that the quality just didn’t match the expectations. A farm shop would usually suggest that the quality will be brilliant but unfortunately this wasn’t the case. Dry bread, fatty meats, bland flavours and average food. Such a-shame as the potential is there with the link to the farm shop.

Unfortunately we won’t be back when next holidaying in this area.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Mikeyd1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

the cakes are delicious and huge. All the food options are simple but effective. Staff are all friendly.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JennyH2294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

What an absolute disappointment this cafe has become! It used to be my family's favourite place but has clearly changed management. Stingy portions,less choice and what look like mass produced cakes. Macknades you should be better than this!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 30Jeanette2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macknade Cafe also viewed

 
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
Faversham, Kent
 

Been to Macknade Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing