We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location, cottage, owners and area.”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Country Retreat

Gardens and grounds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gardens and grounds
Well appointed Bungalow in quiet location. Kitchen  breakfast room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Gardens and grounds
Well appointed Bungalow in quiet location.
Kitchen  breakfast room
Double bedroom
Lounge
Second bedroom with good size comfortable twin beds.
Comfortable Lounge area to relax in.
Well equipped kitchen.
Magical Spring time!
Beautiful mature tree's in every direction.
Peaceful grounds for an evening stroll.
Swings, slide & a 'Pirate Boat' for the smaller guest's to enjoy.
Relax on the garden bench, enjoy the views and abundance of wild life
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Faversham, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maximar20...
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location, cottage, owners and area.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My Portuguese wife was 100% happy. A first. Breakfast with a view over rolling downs parkland with a farmer tending his black faced sheep was quite idyllic. Friendly, helpful, unobtrusive family owners with an eye to detail and old English charm were a bonus to a perfect little cottage. The garden play area was a favourite of my family when we met up each morning for days out. I must admit that my chuckling 3 year old granddaughter on the zip wire gave me a few gray hairs however. My home town of Faversham just holds on to its small market town historic character. We had 3 lunches at the Swam cafe and take away fish and chips from Ossies. Both are so family friendly and wonderful value but more upmarket is now very good in Faversham too. In my childhood playground. a walk down Faversham creek past the boatyard to the desolate marshes and a pint in the Anchor gets better every year. Whitstable harbour for oysters and the Jones's resaurant in Harbour Street for more fish and chips is always on my English visit, must do, list. Sadly, Canterbury is now just too full of tourists for me. On the bright side, the Brazilian traditional Cornish pastie cafe and Nando's chicken cafe have both given me a chance to use my poor Portuguese. The Westgate end of Canterbury with the gardens and Beano cafe for the best English all day breakfast ever in all the World is still on the list.
Kent is not the place for a bucket and spade holiday or Algarve all night, night life but it has such wonderful countryside and historical charm. I will now always use this understated jewel of cottage for my annual UK visits in future. Always wise to keep the Mrs happy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Canterbury
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky L
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Lovely warm comfortable cottage in a very peaceful location. Maureen and Robin were really helpful and welcoming. We all loved the zip wire in the garden. Cottage is in an excellent location for getting the train into London, visiting the Kent coast and Canterbury and also for getting to France. We spent a lovely day in Bruges going by the tunnel. Would love to come back as there was so much more to do

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd68
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value for money with excellent hosts”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I thoroughly recommend this cottage to stay. We stayed in Elm, the cottages are fully equipped with all the things you need for a comfortable stay. Maureen and Robin are excellent hosts who cannot be faulted. They include simple things which I usually find are not found in holiday lettings such as toilet rolls, kitchen towels, washing up liquid, cleaners, rubbish bags, as week as additional useful items such as a washing machine, and an iron. With Wifi included this is excellent especially when you have teenagers and iphones/ipads or when wanting to search local things to do, we found this invaluable.Our cottage was immaculately clean and we felt compelled to keep it as we found it.
It is an ideal base to explore the surrounding area, our favourite place was Herne Bay a mere 12 miles or so, we took our little dog who loves the beach and there are many dog friendly areas for her.
We will definitely return and will have no need to look for alternative accommodation, a real home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The immaculate accommodation
Liked least: Albeit harsh, the portable tv rather than a mon 28" screen, but a minor point.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything.
Liked least: Loved it all!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$66
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing