We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite pubs !”

The Shipwright's Arms
Ranked #33 of 94 Restaurants in Faversham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of my favourite pubs !”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A great pub is made up of lots of quite separate features that when taken together make it special, and to us this is it!
Situated down a long bumpy road through the anchient Oare Marshes, sheep in old fields and the sense that one is just about to reach the estuary makes the setting magic (we used to arrive by boat from Hoo - which really was utter heaven). The pub is on the river and by the boat yard and wonderfully named Hollow Shore. The simple old clapperboard pub is run by devoted hard working tennant landlords, he his a deliciously dry sence of humor, 'not you again' he might utter without a grin, but if you look hard there is a twinkle. Beer is local and first class and the food is good home made pub grub along with a riverside walk afterwards makes this utter heaven. Thoes that complain aout the food should perhaps only go to La Gavroche!!! Heaven :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very pleasant bank holiday lunchtime was spent at this pub. Basic but well cooked and presented pub food. Very good value for money. Nice garden and views of the water. Only drawback is finding it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iangorsuchharlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Pub with a difference”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is not the usual run of the mill pub. It is like a small museum with interesting photos and artefacts on shelves and on the walls, A' Haunted Seat' which you are welcome to try. Some of the very best English beer around. Food is no nonsense pub food of good quality. Sited next to good walks and bird watching, I cannot understand why there are some negative reviews. As someone who goes to pubs every week for drinks and meals with friends I realise that this Pub is out of the ordinary. We find it refreshingly different, as do all of our friends. A truly great Pub.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quirky but don't expect a gastro pub”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We love the Kent marshes as keen bird watchers and walkers, so this in the middle of nowhere pub is ideal. For the setting think the opening scenes of "Great Expectations".

We have visited the Shipwrights' Arms many times before. The food is basic pub food, though well-cooked, and I agree slightly on the expensive side but the portions are generous. Don't expect fussy restaurant food with a fancy chef.

On the day we visited, the ladies' toilet was immaculately clean. I can't speak for the gents' which is unfortunately outside.

The building itself is quirky, with lots of nooks and crannies and open fires and there is a large garden.

They allow dogs but not children in the bar though I believe children are allowed in the restaurant. It wasn't open on the half-term day when we visited. We are not keen on dogs but the pub probably gets a fair amount of trade from those who walk their animals along the creek.

We like it, it serves a purpose for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ship Wrong Arms”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We agree with jeff j comments totally. Regretably we ate there the same day. The running of this pub leaves a lot to be desired, thankfully the landlord and his wife the 'cook' don't own it, so there is hope for the future. I cannot believe that some of the comments here state that the food is 'excellent' or 'good' - it isn't! go back to Specsavers and also get your taste buds checked. If you are the kind of diner who wishes to make your own mind up that is fine, but you may want to do a dry run first to see what others are eating before you waste an evening or afternoon with your guests here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mits218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shipwright's Arms also viewed

Oare, Faversham
Hernhill, Faversham
 
Faversham, Kent
 

Been to The Shipwright's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing