We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting and a very warm welcome”
Review of Starborough Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edenbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Starborough Manor
Ranked #2 of 6 Edenbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful setting and a very warm welcome”
Reviewed June 10, 2009

What a pleasant experience for an overnight stay.
On arrival we were welcomed by Mrs Mathias shown around and offered tea/coffee.
One felt more like a guest than a customer.
The house is rather special and the grounds are lovely - there is even a moat!
The rooms are comfortable with all the necessary facilities.
Mr Mathias cooks a mean and very generous breakfast.
In the morning one was under no great pressure to leave and we would be happy to stay again when we are in the area.
Highly recommended
Maurice and Louise Doffman

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjdchurchend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
43
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

After a marvellous stay here last year we returned for a three day visit with my sister and her husband. The magic hasn`t worn off - super bedrooms with every comfort, a quiet sitting room with masses of books and copies of Country Life plus a separate entrance so youy can come and go without fuss. Lynn and Jonathan make sure that guests lack for nothing and their breakfasts are really special with fresh strawberries amongst a wide range of starters before the cooked breakfast arrives.
Starborough is exceptionally well sited amongst places to visit. We enjoyed Chartwell, Igtham Mote, Penshurst Place and Emmetts Garden, which still leaves plenty of places for a return visit! There is also a good selection of places locally to eat.
You won`t be disappointed here - the standards are exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmgn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

The half-mile drive to the front door is a clear indication of what to expect - an attractive house in a beautiful (and huge) parkland setting, so this three-storey property provides perfect peace! If you have reason to be in the area, or simply want to explore the beauties of Kent, this is ideal. Lynn and Jonathon were very hospitable and made us feel welcome in their home. Everything you expect from a B & B is here, plus a large lounge, and the full English breakfast is superb. Thanks for two very pleasant days!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MancsManCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

After spending 5 days in London, I took the train south to Starborough Manor in Kent and spent my birthday in the lap of luxury and leisure! Gorgeous views from my windows, long leisurely soaks in a bubble bath, gourmet homemade breakfasts and nights at the local pubs were just the beginning of all that awaited me.

This B&B is a hidden gem in the English countryside and is not to be missed!

Owners Lynn and Jonathan Mathias made me feel like I was part of their family -- not just a customer. And the people in the lovely surrounding towns were friendly and fun. London was okay... but my holiday began when I checked into Starborough.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kegamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

My husband and I have just spent a week at Starborough Manor and have enjoyed the most wonderful surroundings and accommodation. Lynn and Jonathan Mathias are the most generous of hosts and ensured that we had absolutely everything we needed. The Manor stands in it's own extensive grounds at the end of a tree lined drive.

The bedroom on the first floor was beautifully decorated and furnished and the bathroom with separate shower superb. There were generous supplies of tea, coffee etc and fresh milk was provided daily. The beds (twin) very comfortable and the bedding (all cottton) changed mid week. The standard of the Starborough Manor exceeds many top of the range hotels that we have used.

Breakfast was a veritable delight with every whim catered for! We were greeted with sumptuous cakes straight from the Aga on our return in the afternoon.

To sum up, it felt like we were house guests and not simply paying guests. Apart from the odd aircraft noise, this place is absolute perfection!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkeypetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Starborough Manor is an immaculate B & B located near Lingfield Race Course and about 20 minutes from Gatwick Airport. Everything is tip top and top-of-the-range and the complete antithesis of the standard dreary English B &B.

Starborough Manor is a renovated 18th century manor house reached at the end of half mile tree lined drive. One wing has been converted into 3 luxurious B & B rooms with en suite bathrooms by convivial host Lynn and Johnny Mathias.

We were greeted very warmly by Lynn Mathias's mother who gave us tea and biscuits in the family's enormous and well equipped kitchen before showing us our room on the first floor.

The manor has 9 bedrooms in total. The 3 B & B rooms are on the first and second floor in their own wing. Our large room was on the first floor with a kingsized bed , windows overlooking the gardens, and a large en suite bath with bath, seperate shower, plenty of towels and toiletries. Everything was fresh and looked brand new. For a small B &B housekeeping was better than in many 5 stars hotels we have stayed in. There is a lift for disabled access, certainly not something you would expect in a B & B.

B & B guests have their own comfortable and well appointed sitting room on the first floor. There is also a kitchen and dining on this floor which B &B guests can use by payment on an additional charge. This is apparently handy if a group of people are staying in the hosue together.

We had breakfast in the family's kitchen. Normally breakfast is taken in the family dining room but this was out of action due to flooding. The kitchen very easily accomodates a large dining table. The only way to describe breakfast is as sumptious - a properly cooked full English breakfast, piping hot toast, all manner of jams and marmalades, huge array of cereals and freshly prepared pineapple, tea, coffee, orange juice - served on a beautifully presented table - the perfect way to start the day.

We didn't have time to explore the grounds but could see a lake, tennis courts.

Such excellence and hospitality as provided by Starborough Manor is not cheap, £90 for a double, £60 for a single, but we were happy to pay as it was value for money.

The only downside, and I hate to have to write this as it has nothing whatsoever to do with Starborough Manor, but feel you should know, is that it appears to be on the flight path to Gatwick. The day we stayed planes started landing at 6am, but once we shut our window the noise did not bother us. I don't know how often planes are routed this way. That said we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will have no hesitation staying again.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xmapjoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenbridge
1.8 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
6.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,265 reviews
7.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Hurst Farm
Hurst Farm
#1 of 6 in Edenbridge
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starborough Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starborough Manor

Property: Starborough Manor
Address: Starborough Manor Moor Lane | Marsh Green, Edenbridge TN8 5QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Edenbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edenbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starborough Manor is a delightful B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Starborough Manor Edenbridge, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing