We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame it's on the market”
Review of Haxted Mill - CLOSED

Haxted Mill
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed December 3, 2014

This place is up for sale. What can be said apart from "what a shame" as it has always enjoyed an excellent reputation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

If only all restaurants were like the Haxted Mill. Over the years, my husband and I have enjoyed some of the most memorable meals prepared by David welcomed by Linda. Freshest seafood and seasonal vegetables prepared full of flavour. We have made requests for occasions which would challenge most chefs. David and Linda delivered with charm and humour in such a lovely setting. It is rare to have such a wonderful experience even in France, Italy, London, New York. Some 25 years ago, my husband and I stumbled upon Haxted Mill after a walk and David was kind enough to let us come in and wait for dinner. I have only just discovered the very, very sad news for those of us who have enjoyed the Haxted Mill and gracious.
Warmest regards to you both and I hope that David and I will see you again, Molly Borthwick

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaxtedMill, Owner at Haxted Mill, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

I would like to thank you for posting such warm and heart felt review, it was always a joy when you and David walked into our restaurant. It was always a pleasure to serve two such charming and warm people. You were always the unsinkable Molly to me.

We shall miss you all who have come into our lives and we thank you and everyone for their loyal support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a fabulous place to visit for lunch on a summer’s day. Located just outside Edenbridge, the restaurant is next door to the old mill and you can watch the wildlife while you eat at a table on the patio overlooking the mill pond. We understand that the restaurant itself is very pleasant but we have only ever eaten outside. The restaurant majors on fish and shellfish, all of excellent quality. A selection of other dishes, such as lamb, duck or steak is available but it’s really all about the fish.

This time, four of us ate lunch here one Saturday at the end of May. Two of us started with Louisiana blackened prawns, which were outstanding - big, juicy and tasty. A goat’s cheese salad and the smoked salmon were also very good and generously portioned. For mains, two of us chose fritto misto, the others had sea bass and Cajun monkfish. All excellent and accompanied by seasonal veg and very good chips.

This is a longstanding family business, with head chef married to the charming lady running front of house. This makes for warm, friendly and attentive service.

The bill for four, food only, was £140 plus service. Quite expensive this far out of London but the setting and the quality make it worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 309Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaxtedMill, Owner at Haxted Mill, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a few words about your experience at Haxted Mill, it is greatly appreciated. Regrettably we have now retired and shall look forward to watching the wild life flitter by.

Thank you again david

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We phoned up tonight to book my favourite restaurant for my birthday treat only to receive a message that David & Linda are retiring! We would personally like to thank them for all the gorgeous meals and great times we have had here. You will be a hard act to follow... A very sad day indeed. Our very best wishes to you both and to Molly. Also to all your hard working staff xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JANEBWELLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaxtedMill, Owner at Haxted Mill, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

I would like to thank you very much for your kind words, we have received so many good wishes for a happy retirement and people thanking us for all the years we have looked after them.

It has indeed been a pleasure most of the time, the responsibility of fulfilling so many expectations can be daunting and sometimes we did not quite make it, however after twenty-nine years Linda and I are proud of what we have achieved.

Thank you once again

David & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have visited several times now over the last few years and still find it the best overall in the area. Fish and seafood is their speciality. Today I had the rack of lamb for a change, preceded by large rock oysters, and it was excellent. So thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 954Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaxtedMill, Owner at Haxted Mill, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a few words about us, we really appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haxted Mill also viewed

Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
 
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
 
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing