We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to over priced”
Review of Haxted Mill - CLOSED

Haxted Mill
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

very overpriced poncy food terrible service will not visit again as it was dark and dingy and not good decor

4  Thank pendelfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaxtedMill, Owner at Haxted Mill, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Obviously you were in the wrong restaurant. May I suggest a bright and light restaurant with affordable prices.
Macdonalds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went to Haxted again, for a wedding gift, and again it didnt disappoint, it was delicious, we were lucky enough to sit outside that evening and lap up the lovely views. I had louisanna prawns to start which were huge and full of flavour, i didnt want it to end. for a main I had whole cracked crab salad and it was HUGE, not like the small crabs you get fobbed off with elsewhere. It was cracked well so it was easy to eat and full of delicious sweet meat. Accompanied by a side salad with gorgeous dressing and a portion of Davi'd fantastic home made chips. all finished off with my favourite - creme brulee

we will be back....again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DANS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaxtedMill, Public Relations Manager at Haxted Mill, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

It is always a pleasure to see you and husband in our restaurant. Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited here as for an anniversary celebration and all of us thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

We would consider this as a restaurant we'd choose for a celebration or a treat, not a casual 'let's pop out for a bite' location although the set lunchtime menu looks good value for the quality of food on offer.

The food, and please note you have to enjoy fish to make the most of a visit here, tasted as you'd expect freshly prepared and cooked and the portions were generous, certainly not extreme nouveau cuisine although tastefully presented.

The service was welcoming and attentive without being intrusive and in particular the young lady that served us was able to answer our questions about the dishes which was helpful.

The wine list was not what I'd describe as extensive but offered a good range and in particular offered a range of half bottles and wines by the glass which makes it convenient to suit the tastes of all around the table.

Because of the weather we weren't able to benefit from dining on the terrace which looked a beautiful location although I might of been put off if any dogs were allowed to wander about as suggested by the note on the menu to refrain from feeding them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaxtedMill, Owner at Haxted Mill, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We dined on the terrace on a warm summer evening. It was delightful. If you love fish, this is the place for you. Asmosphere, food, service and price were all excellent.

Thank LangkawiFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My favourite restaurant as a fish dish lover. I love sitting by the mill pond and watching the wagtails and wildlife. Steve and I ate slower...and ... slower to savour every mouthful. I did not want the meal to end! Hats off to you! We almost expected the 'Darling buds of May' to come bounding across the fields. As pa Larkin would say 'Perfick! simply. Perfick!' Thank you xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JANEBWELLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haxted Mill also viewed

Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
 
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing