We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, very warm welcome, excellent accommodation - would thoroughly recommend.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edenbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Becketts Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Edenbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2010

My namesake, Jacqui, runs with her husband, a lovely B&B in this delightful and historic part of Kent. The loving care they have expended, not to mention, hard cash, on this very old threshing shed is fantastic. It has now become a delightful home from home with every possible convenience. But it is the warm welcome and helpful guidance as to local attractions, opening times, where to go and what to do that makes one feel welcome.
Not to mention the fab breakfast cooked freshly to order - do try the homemade marmalades particularly kiwi and kaffir lime leaf if available!
Only one small niggle, the tv in our room was badly positioned - very difficult to watch from the bed. You could watch it from the only chair in the room but how many of us do that!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnywiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed at Becketts Bed and Breakfast as my partner and I were coming from London to Tunbridge Wells for a wedding. We arrived slightly late and unprepared so Jacqui helped us find the location of the church and provided us with advice on where to park. The room was lovely and comfortable, the barn conversion and settings very charming. The breakfast was delicious and Jacqui and Ken were great hosts and advised us on places to visit in the area. We would highly recommend this place. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

For the second time we have spent three nights in this B&B. What made us come back is the great location (London 1 hour by train and many gardens, castles, manors nearby).

The breakfast was lovely and served in a beautiful room. The rooms are a bit small, but everything is at hand and they are very clean. We found the beds a bit hard, allthough they were brand new. But I think this is personal taste.

The owners really make you feel at home and are very helpful. In the nearby village of Cowden is a nice pub (the Fountain) with good, home cooked food.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biebbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed a couple of nights here. The house is a converted barn and the conversion (by the owners) has been done very well. Our room was large and comfortable and had a small outside area. The shower room was large, clean and well equiped. The lovely pictures on the walls are nearly all Jacqui's work as is the beautiful garden. The owners are welcoming and helpful and the breakfast outstanding - particularly the home made jam and marmalade. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjohnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Ideally situated to see the historic sites - and there are plenty within easy reach. Had three overseas visitors we wanted to impress and Becketts certainly fitted the bill - 100% !

Clean well equipped rooms, full English breakfast and very friendly hosts with plenty of local knowledge. Great stay - thanks Jacqui and Ken.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrolhead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We were made to feel very welcome here - which makes such a difference. The barn is in a lovely setting with a beautiful garden. The interior is done out very nicely and our room was very comfortable. Breakfast was superb. Would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mugenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

High class, delightful rooms with own entrance and pretty gardens. Mrs Beckett is a very attentive hostess and nothing is too much trouble. We booked two rooms, with excellent en-suites which were clean, well stocked with toiletries, tea making facilitiies, and all the comforts of home. Breakfast was plentiful with a wide choice, well cooked and presented. It was easy to find and within easy reach of Chartwell, Hever Castle, and the surrounding pretty Kent Villages. We would definately stay there again and recommend it to anyone wanting first class accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordshireMoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenbridge
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
5.7 mi away
Hurst Farm
Hurst Farm
#1 of 6 in Edenbridge
39 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hever Castle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ye Old Crown
Ye Old Crown
#4 of 6 in Edenbridge
60 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Becketts Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becketts Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pylegate Farm Hartfield Road | Cowden, Edenbridge TN8 7HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Edenbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edenbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning 300 year old Listed barn set in a glorious area of outstanding natural beauty. Three individual en suite rooms including antique for poster, super-king and garden twin. TV, free wifi, complimentary tea/coffee and toiletries. Full English breakfast with vegetarian options, served with homemade jams and marmalades. Only 30 miles south of London (50 minutes by train) and within 4 miles of Hever Castle, Chartwell and Penshurst. Excellent for walking, cycling, exploring or just relaxing. Great pubs and restaurants nearby. Ashdown Forest, the home of Winnie the Pooh and Pooh sticks bridge within 5 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Becketts Bed And Breakfast Edenbridge, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing