We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal tourism retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edenbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Becketts Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Edenbridge B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ideal tourism retreat”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed here as part of a business visit to the area (local hotels are limited in number and were fully booked). It is not so well suited for a business stop-over, as the desk had no chair and the room space was limited. However, it is not intended as a hotel room substitute, but as a comfortable B&B for tourists, and as such is excellent. The building is very tastefully furnished (to my tastes anyway!) and the conversion from a barn has been done superbly. The room had a very modern shower room attached, and the bed was very comfortable and cosy.
Slightly difficult to find at night, as it is too easy to miss the sign on a moderately fast road. Coming from Edenbridge, it is easier to go past (it is on a slight bend, on the left, just before the road drops to Cowden) and turn into Cowden village and turn round. You then can see teh Fountains Inn and assess it for supper. Coming from Cowden, the turning into the yard is easier.
As lots of people have said, the welcome is very warm, and there are lots of information books about the local sites. I was particularly impressed by a map of the local pubs and a description of each of them, in the information pack. This was very well presented and something sorely lacking in other venues.
Breakfast was kindly provided earlier than usual to enable me to meet my schedule. I can thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay for anyone visiting the area who appreciates the effort put in to every aspect of the stay, and very convenient for Hever and Chiddingstone Castle - plus all the other attractions in this area of Kent (and East Sussex).

Room Tip: I wasn't bothered by aircraft noise, despite this being close to Gatwick. The room I had was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased you found the room comfortable and decorated to your liking. For business, I can offer an upright chair which may be more convenient for working. Yes, we are very convenient for the fabulous castles and gardens with Hever, Penshurst and Chartwell all within four miles, making Becketts and ideal tourism base.
Many thanks once again, regards Jacqui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
74
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I should have written this a while ago, but better late than never. 4 of us stayed at Becketts in May 2011 and it was the ideal location for what we wanted to do in the area. The B&B is charming, rooms are comfortable and spacious with olde world décor and feel. The breakfast was like being at home, and the Wilcox owners provided lots of info and help if you need it to get around and tour points of interest. There is a train station just 5 minutes away and you can be in central London in about an hour, prices are reasonable and the trains run early to quite late, we caught a train back from London bridge close to 11pm.
The room we chose gave us garden access to a quiet little area for star gazing with a glass of wine after a day of sight seeing.
We had a car rental but you don't want to drive in London. In the area are many gorgeous castles, Staley homes and historical monuments such as Hever castle, home of the famous Anne Boleyn, 2nd wife of Henry VIII, Penshurst Castle, part of the setting for the film, The Other Boleyn Girl and much more.
It summary, its a charming country setting, an historical place in itself with the heart of England surrounding you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67fifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are very pleased that Becketts stayed in your thoughts these past few months. We have had a lovely warm summer here with many visitors from all over the world. We are glad that you found the journey to London very easily on the train, under 1 hour to the centre! There are still many more National Trust houses and beautiful gardens to explore in this area and we hope you may visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This actually was my first B&B experience. But it won't be my last. The Wilcox's run a wonderful place to stay. It's a refurbished 300 year old barn with all the amenities you could ask for. There is lots to do in the area with great pubs and walking paths. We spent one of our days there just hanging around the B&B. The gardens around Becketts are a real pleasure; a nice place to just "chill" for a while. We had the room with the four poster bed which was perfect. Even the wi-fi was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi, it was lovely to hear that your B & B stay will not be your last! We do offer something very different from hotels and we are so pleased you enjoyed it here, relaxing in the garden and visiting the very special castles we have nearby. Also the walk to the local pub through the field.
Best wishes to you all. Ken and Jacqui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Becketts BnB as part of a 2 week trip to the UK in July/August of 2013 and I can't think of enough nice things to say about the place. Ken and Jacqui (the owners) are delightful and went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable stay, and whether it was taking the time to drive us over to the car rental place in Edenbridge or recommending activities/restaurants in the area they were always reachable, friendly, and more than helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and their location in Kent is great - very nearby to several local attractions (Hever castle, Chartwell) and they're reasonably close to London via car or train. If you're in Kent and looking for a wonderful place to stay I can't recommend Becketts strongly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaknafein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review and we are both pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to our country. Very best wishes for your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We chose to book four beautiful rooms at Becketts B&B for some of our wedding guests as our wedding reception was being held nearby. Jacqui was incredibly helpful from our initial enquiry and put up with various room, name and number changes right until the last minute. The rooms are all beautifully decorated, unique in character and brilliantly equipped for all your holiday needs. We in fact decided to book the four poster room for our wedding night as it's so beautiful and suitably special. Breakfast was superb, all tastes were catered for with ease and the big breakfast table was perfect for us all to discuss the previous exciting day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many thanks for being such a friendly group and the flower girls were absolutely lovely. We do try to accommodate everyone, whatever changes and I hope we succeeded! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved our stay at Becketts. The historic barn building has been expertly restored to a very high standard and is comfortable and clean.Great experience to chill and watch the birds on a beautiful afternoon in the delightful English garden. The owners have detailed local knowledge and can advise on places to visit.We came for a wedding but also enjoyed a fascinating to Winston Churchill's residence at Chartwell. The breakfasts here included freshly baked muffins, homemade jams and local strawberries - delicious. You will not be disappointed with time spent unwinding in such pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcieliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time in writing a review. Don't forget we have Hever Castle, Penshurst and many more National Trust properties nearby. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are visiting London and would like a country visit go to Edenbridge in Kent.
Becketts B and B is top notch and close to trains and local areas to visit. Jacqui and Ken are fantastic hosts with a lovey renovated barn and wonderful beds. Breakfast is included and I highly recommend trying her jams!!! and their lovely cooking.
They have great knowledge of the area and if you like Castles then you must visit Hever and Penhurst. Hever for spectacular gardens and Penhurst for the true magic of the Medieval life style.
If you are not driving I also recommend pre booking a car from Steve at Eden Valley Cars.Much cheaper and you can make up as schedule to fit your needs.

I look forward to going to Becketts B and B on my next trip !!

Room Tip: They are all lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Many thanks and we are so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us. London is only 50 minutes by train so it is possible to travel up there for the day or come down here from London for a few days. I agree, Steve the taxi driver is great and as you say, can organise a day's itinerary for a great day out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenbridge
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
4.5 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
6.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
670 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Becketts Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becketts Bed and Breakfast

Property: Becketts Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pylegate Farm Hartfield Road | Cowden, Edenbridge TN8 7HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Edenbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edenbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning 300 year old Listed barn set in a glorious area of outstanding natural beauty. Three individual en suite rooms including antique for poster, superking and garden twin. TV, free wifi, complimentary tea/coffee and toiletries. Full English breakfast with vegetarian options, served with homemade jams and marmalades. Only 30 miles south of London (50 minutes by train) and within 4 miles of Hever Castle, Chartwell and Penshurst. Excellent for walking, cycling, exploring or just relaxing. Great pubs and restaurants nearby. Ashdown Forest, the home of Winnie the Pooh and Pooh sticks bridge within 5 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Becketts Bed And Breakfast Edenbridge, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing