We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit Awkward!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn - CLOSED

The Wheatsheaf Inn
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Bit Awkward!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stopped off for a mid week evening meal and it wasn't exactly what we were expecting. The website gave the impression it was more high class than it actually was. We turned up and were the only people in the entire place and the menu was written on a chalk board. However, the food really was delicious. It was very good quality - very flavoursome although the portions were much too big. The amount of chips my partner received would have easily done 2 people! I''d consider visiting again but maybe on a weekend when there would be more people, and only if I was extremely hungry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerty2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely pub. lovely food.lovely to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

the wheatsheaf was a blind find. just stumbled upon it.
Its a pub with its own character. It isnt a disney land, remake of an old pub. Which unfortunatly most country pubs have turned into these.

Its small inside, but cosy and does have the dinner on a big black board. theres enough trinkets and "stuff" to keep noticing more.
The food is very large. Which can sometimes lead to ( not very good) but in this case it was lots of food and very very tasty.
Its a pity as couldnt fit a pudding in. There is a car park. Which is right off the road and a bus stop. right outside.
It seems popular with locals and walkers and bikers. The customers seemed friendly and so did the bar staff. Which again with country pubs sometimes, this can be a problem.they can be too local. If you know what i mean.

Theres an outside,court yard .and tables and chairs.looking forward to going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petrichor2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love the taxidermy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I love the Wheatsheaf, brilliant dog friendly pub. Great beer and lovely beer garden. Plus the taxidermy in there is fantastic, although probably not to everyone's taste. The only thing that lets it down is the irritating trend around Sevenoaks and the outlying area for poncy food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenksy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor service; poor food- will not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Decided to try this place based on reviews. Bad idea. No atmoshpere or ambience but there was a wide selection of food. The cod was good and the chips were good. The sweet chilli chicken was OK but the roast was a real disaster. The roast potatoes and yorkshires were so burnt that they were almost impossible to eat. We noticed that the guy next door had a similar burnt offering. The beef was poor quality. The dishes were swimming in gravy; one waitress spilt gravy from one meal on the floor ( but did not bother to clean it up leaving a greasy mess on the floor) and the next waitress spilt gravy over one of our parties coats but did not offer to clean it up or bring a cloth - was more concerned that the gravy had also got onto her shoes.

Would not go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Julesfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Regularly come here for lunch, has an extensive range of dishes available, reasonably priced with generous portions and tastes amazing. Friendly, helpful staff. Good, proper ales. Perhaps a little basic inside but more cosy and welcoming than a lot of pubs.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheezWeez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf Inn also viewed

Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
 
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
 
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing