We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B accommodation”
Review of The Star Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edenbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Edenbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Very comfortable executive suite - very clean and tidy although expected a little more room for "executive" room but ensuite was very good. Quiet well away from bar area and smokers spot. Bed very comfortable.

A little worried when we booked in as my name was not on guests booked-in board however soon resolved.by Nicci the landlady.

Breakfast in morning was excellent although told upto 11.30am when it was 11am however Nicci was not too bothered - pub opens each morning for breakfast specials. I could have had the belly bursting one (3 of everything) but settled for Star Inn option (2 of everything)

Garden area needed a bit of tidying and limited car parking not easy although Co-op car park not too far away.

Overall nice B & B and good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikj68, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for you kind comments & feedback.

The garden is looking lovely now I have taken some-one on to help keep the grounds tidy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

Never fails to deliver value for money and quality - tried the rest but this is definitely the best in Edenbridge. Friendly staff and fantastic service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiplingMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikj68, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Glad you enjoy it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Star Inn has a real friendly, community atmosphere. The Manager was so helpful and welcoming, and the room rates are very competitive. Our stay was made perfect by Lucy the Chef who cooks the best breakfast in England - Fantastic!!! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuSidAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikj68, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

So glad you felt comfortable and enjoyed the breakfast! We look forward to you staying again. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

bar terrible, unfriendly customers. Seems if youre not a local forget drinking in there. A much friendlier pub just a couple of minutes walk way. Landlady, nikki, very drunk and threatening of an evening which is not at all professional whilst pub is open. Rooms ok, refering to previous comment cheap tacky bedding. Will not be returning next time will bring a tent.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank garsenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikj68, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Sorry.. I must have had a night off! although you did help me get a booking as people wanted to meet me... as you refered to other reviews I will do also, I am Nikki or the manager and I have had some lovely reviews that say I'm not 'awful' most of the time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Friendly place and not too bad for an overnight stay - certainly a fair price.

But then you get what you pay for often and the windows are dodgy and the bedding whilst looking nice enough, was really not very comfortable - a bit synthetic and scratchy and somehow stiff.

The noise went on until very late downstairs so avoid the family room at the front if you can, especially on a Saturday (if you're bothered about sleep - fine if you're joining in). Not sure about other rooms.

Brekkie was good and plentiful but coffee was instant and tea wasn't great.

Overall, OK for a quick stopover if you don't mind a late night but bring your own bedding!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bahny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikj68, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for your review... I looked into the issue with the bedding, your bedding as new and although the bedding had been washed before use there was still a bit of starch remaining which is why the bedding felt stiff... I have learnt from this and all new bedding has a few washes before we use them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

It's a good value B&B with a good standard of rooms, friendly landlord and a lovely doggy! Breakfast is best in Kent - seriously - worth it just to nurse your head over this in the morning. It is a local B&B so be prepares to mix in if using the pub but don't be put off by appearances as this is good value and comfortable within the average price range

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrralst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

The service and hospitality from all the staff are a credit to the hard working manager.
You would find it difficult to find a better breakfast anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanrforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenbridge
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
3.4 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.2 mi away
The Greyhound at Hever
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hever Castle Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Hurst Farm
Hurst Farm
#1 of 6 in Edenbridge
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: High Street, Edenbridge TN8 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Edenbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edenbridge
Price Range: $59 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Star Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Inn Edenbridge, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing