We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely english Inn”
Review of The Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dymchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Dymchurch B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely english Inn”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lovely meals, good staff and a frendly feel will greet you when you arrive here.
modern bar and restaurant , but you still know you are in a 500 year old building with all the quriky bits,funny angle doors and creeky floor boards, we loved it! A real OLD english Inn.
They also have a nice seletion of Wine and Ale! Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alessandria, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Dirty carpet, highly creacking floor, bathroom door did not close, dangerous stairs.
We had 2 weeks holiday in Great Britain and had stays in Travelodge and Premier Inn hotels.
Due to family problem we had to rearrange our stays and booked this hotel on the Eurobookings/Expedia website. reference were average so we took the risk..... We won't take it any more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dymchurch hotels

Greenhithe, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a double room ensuite room which was clean and basic. There was no relenishment of clean towels or clean tea cups on our second day and the window was propped open with a piece of wood.

There was hardly amy information in the room about the hotel facilities and area.

We were underwhelmed by our welcome from the proprietor on our arrival and despite seeing her several times throughout our stay she did not speak to us once.

The restaurant closed at 7pm and the bar at 9pm on Sunday which we felt was too early in an area where there are very few bars to visit.

The best part of the hotel is the restaurant with excellent food both at dinner and breakfast plus friendly waitresses.

We felt that £80 per night was not great value although that did include breakfast. I would not want to pay more that £60 including breakfast a night for a room of this quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

On a recent trip to the Uk from Australia,we had a 1 night stay in the Deluxe room on the Top floor. Very comfortable and contempary in a Hotel that is very "Olde Worlde" , Dinner was excellent and the Host was helpful at all times. The connection with "Dr Syn" is something that is mentioned but not "flogged to death" as it would be easy to do this, however this Hotel would stand on its own 2 feet even without Dr Syn, Well done .

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms on the top floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days very recently, returning for the 4th time. We find the hotel charming, the staff very friendly and the food excellent. Also the rooms are very comfortable and clean, clean towels every day. Very family orientated with a lovely beach locally. Not to mention the Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway nearby, which is magical. Elaine and Gary are lovely people and their staff are second to none. We are definitely are going back there shortly and sometime after that as we love the area and the railway very much.

Room Tip: Have only stayed in 2 rooms on first floor and both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamDavSalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The rooms on the top floor are low-ceilinged - take care if you're anywhere near 6ft tall - but very clean and comfortable. We took two rooms on the top floor; one of them had a sea view. If it's stormy, as it was the night we stayed, you can also hear the sea. The food was good value and well-prepared; the fish and chips were really excellent. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. What more do you need from an inn with B&B?

Room Tip: Room 8 has the sea view - but low ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newjustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were going to a friend's wedding at Lympne Castle. The room was clean, but very old fashioned decor and furniture and the room was also quite small. The double bed was cramped and not very comfortable and the bathroom was freezing ( lots of hot water,thought ). There was only one mirror in the bathroom, with no where to plug in a hairdryer - which was annoying when you are trying to get ready to go out. Earlier in the evening, there were smells coming up from the kitchen - which wasn't great. The breakfast was terrible: It took about 30 minutes to arrive, my tea cup was dirty ( really dirty, like it hadn't even been washed out ! so I asked for that to be changed ), my cereal bowl had food stuck on it and the beans were cold ( completely cold, like they just came out of the tin ).
Our friends stayed at various places around Hythe / Folkestone and they had much better accommodation and food - for only 5 pounds more per night that they charge at the Ship Inn.
We would shop around next time and not stay here, unless the rooms were fully updated to make them comfortable and they sort out the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizPaul_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dymchurch
3.8 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Romney
93 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
641 reviews
6.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,763 reviews
8.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
990 reviews
2.7 mi away
Romney Bay House Hotel
Romney Bay House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littlestone-on-Sea
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: 118 High Street, Dymchurch TN29 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dymchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dymchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is steeped in nearly 600 years of history and is a lovely venue for a drink with friends or a traditional home cooked meal in our Restaurant or bar, accommodation in one of our 8 rooms, some ensuite. The Ship has a restaurant and two bars where traditional home cooked food is made by our new talented Chef. We always aim to make the most of Local Produce. At the Bar we have a good selection of Real Ales and Fine wines alongside premium lagers and bottled beers. Russell Thorndike weaved The Ship Inn (his local) into his famous Dr Syn novels. The Ship is alive with Dr Syn art and character. We have a collection of Dr Syn related merchandise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Dymchurch, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing