We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps it was us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dr Syns Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Dymchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Perhaps it was us”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had two nights at Dr Syn's. As ever I checked Trip Advisor beforehand, but somehow I just can't bring myself to agree with all the rave reviews. I phoned to book and Debbie asked that I send an e-mail (which I did immediately) and she would reply in confirmation (which she didn't). On booking I asked if we could have an evening meal, and Debbie said no, as they were going away. When we arrived there was a meal cooking for others but Debbie advised us to go to the Ocean Inn. We did -it was a standard and reasonable fish and chips accompanied by v.loud juke box. Throughout our stay the landlady seemed pushed and hardly passed the time of day with us. She wasn't unfriendly, just dissinterested.

We had the Captain Clegg room. It is very small about 30cm between both sides of the narrow double bed and the walls. The shower is adequate (not power). The lighting was poor (only one bedside lamp). As others have said breakfast is cooked to order and coffee is good. But cereals are the cheapest supermarket type. I have to be fair. It is convenient for the sea front and local shops (Tesco express), close to the railway and there is easy off street parking. The place was clean and everything was 'in place' but I felt that this was a B&B stuck in the 1960s and not of the standard that we should be getting today.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank archaeologyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello, Thank you for your review, your comments are noted but unfounded.
with regards to your comment related to email, sorry but network was down could not reply .

With Ref evening meal, yes I did say I was not cooking, but when you arrived you asked me again, I said I was not cooking the full menu but I did offer you a light meal Cod & Chips when you arrived (as the other 2 guests were having) I also said the ocean Pub 100 yards across the road does have a full menu to choose from, I see you went there and had Cod & chips, I dont know why you could hear the juke box in the main bar as the dinning area is at the rear of the building.

I am sorry you found me not interesting but I did asked you the times that I did see you if you were ok and did you have a nice day , your wife said you had found a new bird, (Bird Watching) I said that was very nice.

Our breakfast is cooked to order every day, We serve Fresh Fruit, Juice, and a selection of cereals, no one as ever said they did not like the cereals.

Our Rooms have been re- furbished to a high standard . The Entire house has had an entire make- over which took aprox 4 months including new carpets throughout
There are no 1960s furnishings in the building, there is an antique Oak Dresser in the dinning room plus a Grand mother clock and yew tables although covered with white cloths for protection, There are a lot of artifacts around the dining area some of which guests have given us and some are my collection over many years during my time spent in the Middle East with my husband John working. (Bahrain & Saudia arabia),

Our 17th Century Guest House is very well located for visitors to the romney marsh area, With the Sea just 300 yards away RHD railway 300 yards away, Dungerness 15 mins drive Euro Tunnell 15 mins ad Dover Port 25 mins.

Regards Debbie & John Playford " Dr Syns"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

yet another fab weekend at Dr Synns B & B. Had our 3rd visit to Debbie & johns Guest House, and it was as enjoyable as ever. Deb does a great breakfast to set you up for the day. We have stayed in 3 different rooms now, and can reccomend them all. Sunday roast was to die for, and must be tried.
Stayed for four days wish it could hve been more !, thanks again Debbie and John hope to see you soon Angie & John Hughes

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJHughes1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your review, So glad you came for the Dr Syns Weekend, We also had a good time here with you all, Look forward to seeing you all again soon, come anytime, bye for now Debbie & John, " Dr Syns" 01303 874558.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Being from the U.S., this was my first experience in Kent. Dr. Syn's was very clean and neat yet had a distinct and interesting character all it's own. Incredible breakfast (thanks for being veggie friendly!) with REAL, FRESHLY BREWED COFFEE!! Had a fantastic tour of area historic sites with one night's stay at Dr. Syn's as we passed through the area. I would love to return to Southeast England and would happily stay here again!! Cheers Debbie and John!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdrc2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at " dr syns" dymchurch, Hope you had a fab holiday here in uk Kent, I am sure the weather is better in US than here at the moment.
If you came again to kent come and see us at " Dr Syns" best regards to you Debbie & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Sadly it was just one night with Debbie and John during an intensive tour of Battle of Britain historic sites but what an excellent choice. Without doubt the breakfast was almost too much but set us up for the long, very wet, drive across to Tangmere. There is only one place to stay if visiting the Marshes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, Glad you enjoyed your stay and Breakfast here at " Dr Syns".
If you are in the area again, and need B & B give us a call, Best Regads , Debbie & John Playford. 01303 874558.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healesville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Such a lovely time at Dr Syn's in Dymchurch.Debbie is the BEST cook. Just loved her English Breakfast and the varied evening meals. So glad we had booked on the internet for 4 nights in mid-May. We enjoyed riding on the Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch railway. Debbie suggested some other things we might like to see as well, so we took her advice.

The room was clean and beautifully decorated and the bed so comfy. Up only one flight of stairs. Appreciated having the Wifi, too. The shower was really good. Small fridge in the room; also tea/coffee making facility. Parking is not a problem; plenty of space down the yard. The room overlooked the garden; really lovely, with flowers and some vegetables growing as well. Just wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks Debbie and John.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegrag4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you for your review, We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, We hope that the rest of your stay in uk is a good one.
Enjoy your trip to USA and Canada, with best wishes to you both Debbie & John " Dr Syns"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

we needed to take our new convertable for drive and decided to have a night away at the same time. DR Syn's is a lovely B/B, all the rooms are done out very tastefully and Debbie and John are excellent hosts.We went across the road to the pub for a bite to eat and a couple of beers and a walk along the sea wall, and went Back to DR Syn's and sat in the little bar having a beer and putting the world to rights with our hostess..Breakfast was very nice and a proper size too.
we really enjoyed our stay and we will be returning in the future. only thing was it rained and couldnt put the top down on the car, can't blame Dr Syns for that though...lol

Room Tip: our room overlooked the decking at the back and was lovely, very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanHaines26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your one night stay with us here at " Dr Syns", please give us a call if you would like to come again, (sorry about the rain!) 01303 874558.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Well done Debbie and John what a another wonderful stay.

We arrived a bit late in the day (sorry Debbie) and was shown upto our twin room and what a lovely surprise it had been redecorated (not that it needed it) after checking if there was anything else we required Debbie then left us to do our own thing.

We unpacked and was just on the way out when John came up to ask us if we wanted anything from the Chinese as they were getting their meal from there, but we had already made other arrangements we thanked him., and then went out.

After an evening out we returned to our room which was very warm and welcoming and watched some tv in bed (rooms now have freeview tv) we had a really good nights sleep. In the morning we got up and got ready to go down to breakfast as prearranged with Debbie the night before. It was a really good start to my birthday a lovely full english breakfast plenty of toast and coffee brilliant thank you Debbie.

We have also seen the new summer menu for lunches which now includes a brunch menu also when the weather is hot and sunny you can do aftenoon tea in the garden (lovely hot scones lots of cream and jam) but can also be enjoyed inside as well and if you are looking for a nice sunday lunch then prebook and have a lovely meal.

You have both excelled yourselves again and we look forward to staying again later in the year. (oh john put his foot in it with my sister the other week she was walking past with her 2 children and was trying to get her son to move out of the way when he told james to move out of nannys way she said she knows she's gone grey but really! still she is only 45 and she's younger than me made me laugh anyway her face was a picture when she told us later well done John.

Hope this year is a good one for you as it is also Dy Syns pagent again August bank holiday lets hope its a dry one.

Dawn and Patricia.

Room Tip: all rooms are good sized rooms with ensuite bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whackyofdymchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mipps, Owner at Dr Syns Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
hello, Thank you for your review, It is so nice to have people return to us at " Dr Syns", We try to do our best you know, , Just waiting fr the sun to arrive so we can all sit out on the Sun Terrace! .
Give us a call if you are comming to stay again, Regads Debbie & John 01303 874558.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dymchurch
6.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
37 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Romney
92 reviews
2.3 mi away
Romney Bay House Hotel
Romney Bay House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littlestone-on-Sea
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
48 reviews
4.9 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
627 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr Syns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr Syns Guest House

Property: Dr Syns Guest House
Address: 24 Mill Road, Dymchurch TN29 0NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dymchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dymchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run 17th Century Guest House & Restaurant, Set in Dymchurch Romney Marsh Kent, 200 yards from the Golden Sandy beach of Dymchurch and 200 yards from the Steam Railway "RHD" Steam Railway.All our rooms are EN -suite here at " Dr Syns" and decorated to a very high standard.The Name " Dr Syn" comes from the book by Russell Thorndike " Dr Syns" all about Smugglers in the 17th century, Walt Disney also made a Film about 1963.Our Guest house is Ideal for people wanting to vist Castles and gardens, or just sit on our lovely beach 200 yards walk, Euro Tunnel is just 15 mins drive from " Dr Syns" , Dover Docks 25 mins drive. Our Prices all include Full Breakfast. Evening meals served on request £13.50 for 2 courses. We also cater for private Functions Parties, small weddings, Buffetts, etc . We have private parking, Large Garden andSun Terrace, also ideal for motor bikes. Hope to see some of you soon.Regards Debbie Dr Syns Guest House Dymchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dr Syns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dr Syns Guest House Dymchurch, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing