We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well positioned in the delightful town of Deal”
other travelers have booked this property
**SHRIMP COTTAGE** DEAL, KENT, ENGLAND.





Shrimp Cottage Deal Kent
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
**SHRIMP COTTAGE** DEAL, KENT, ENGLAND.





Shrimp Cottage Deal Kent
BEDROOM LOUNGE FROM STAIRCASE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
**SHRIMP COTTAGE** DEAL, KENT, ENGLAND.





Shrimp Cottage Deal Kent
BEDROOM
LOUNGE FROM STAIRCASE
SHOWER ROOM AND LOO AND WASH BASIN
SHOWER, LOO, SINK
KITCHEN
DEAL HIGH ST, GREAT SHOPS RESTAURANTS BISTROS AND INNS .
SHRIMP COTTAGE BUILT IN 1790
DUSKY MOONLIGHT OVER DEAL PIER BEACH, SHRIMP COTTAGE 2 MINS AWAY
STAIRCASE TO BEDROOM
LOUNGE
BREAKFAST & DINING BAR IN LOUNGE
BREAKFAST & DINING BAR NEXT TO KITCHEN
BEDROOM VERY COSY, VERY SHRIMP COTTAGE
KITCHEN
GALLERIED BEDROOM LEADING TO EN-SUITE SHOWER AND TOILET.
BEDROOM
SHOWER
HOW ABOUT SOMETHING TO EAT AND DRINK IN A PUB ON THE BEACH - V. NEAR SHRIMP COTTAGE.
LOUNGE
KITCHEN
KITCHEN AND BREAKFAST BAR
GALLERIED LANDING LEADING TO THE FRONT DOOR FROM BEDROOM
T.V. AND PART OF LOUNGE
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Deal, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CMJupp
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well positioned in the delightful town of Deal”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is well equipped and though tiny has everything you need, even for those wanting to have a few meals 'in'. It is a short and enjoyable walk to the High Street, where there are plenty of restaurants and cafes and pubs. We particularly enjoyed the micro-pub The Just Reproach 10 minutes stroll from the cottage, along the interesting and pretty Middle Street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2014
Thank you for your review It was very nice to meet you and talk about your Morris Dancing, we had a ballerina stay at Shrimp Cottage not so long ago and her stories of her performances and her travels were fascinating. Please come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Thanks for your kind review,- and we hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Esher, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful review. we so much enjoyed having you as our guests at "SHRIMP".it is also gratifying that guests comment on our hard work in maintaining the cottage to a high standard of upkeep and cleanliness, which we would expect if we were guests. Come back soon, kind regards Melanie & Tony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KCDSomers...
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second Home”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very pleasant stay in Shrimp Cottage. It proved a comfortable base for our week in Deal. We didn't cook preferring to eat out every night as there were lots of eateries within walking distance.
We were a little frustrated with the old TV and Freeview box - it proved to be quite temperamental - not always responding to the remote controls despite changing the batteries a couple of times. However, persevering always paid off in the end.
The shower was good but again a little quirky. To get hot water you need to open the basin hot tap (and on one occasion the kitchen tap as well) to persuade the boiler to fire. Another minor issue was that it was difficult to keep the water temperature constant - we definitely didn't run any other water whilst one of us was showering but we still found that the water temperature fluctuated - at times getting too hot - and no we didn't turn the dial past the red enhance button. Also,we don't like carpet in the bathroom - it's not hygienic .
The first half of the week we were bothered by an unpleasant aroma (only downstairs) that reminded us of the stale smell you get in an old persons house......but to be fair it was gone by the end of the week......
The front door has swollen and needed a good bang to close fully.Equally it was tricky to open the door a couple of times and we feared that our key might break in the lock.
The stairs are really steep but this wasn't an issue for us.
The bedding was fine and the beds comfortable but the pillows should be replaced - they were very thin!
Parking was available on nearby roads and did not cause us any problems.
The positives outweighed the negatives tho' and we enjoyed Shrimp Cottage and would recommend it as a holiday base for two people. It would be even better with a little investment / updating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2014
In the service industry we cater for all types of guest. It is a pleasure to accommodate holiday makers with a well meaning disposition and it is a joy to read their glowing reviews of SHRIMP COTTAGE. We would like to thank all those for their positive comments. It gives us real pleasure to know that they have had fun in Deal and that we have contributed to their enjoyment by providing our cottage which is cleaned and maintained with care and consideration by us to the highest possible standard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR KIND COMMENTS. IT IS VERY COMFORTING TO US THE OWNERS TO READ SUCH GLOWING REVIEWS FOR SHRIMP COTTAGE. WE DO TRY TO MAKE OUR GUESTS AS COMFORTABLE AS POSSIBLE AND TO GIVE ADVICE ON SAY, THE BEST PLACES TO EAT OR WHAT TO SEE OR WHERE TO SHOP ETC, WE THINK IT ALL ADS TO A MORE PLEASANT HOLIDAY EXPERIENCE AND DEAL IS JUST GETTING BETTER AND BETTER WITH MORE UPMARKET SHOPS, INNS, AND DINING.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorsten, Germany
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wellcoming owners and the spotless, yet comfortable interior
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we try more than most in this cottage industry to give our customers a service that we would enjoy ourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janet C
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location for our holiday.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Very friendly owners, ideal location for exploring the kent coast. Easy walking distance to town or promanade.Short walk to local friendly pub. Twenty minutes to Dover if you want to use this as a base for a short break to France as we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to town ect.
Liked least: Parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about Shrimp Cottage. We try very hard to make our customers our main priority, and you are right the cottage is in a PRIME LOCATION for Dover port to visit France,- and also the sea front, pier and shops.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing