We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak For a Long While”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ranked #30 of 111 Restaurants in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Steak For a Long While”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We were in Deal for a few days and wish we had found this pub restaurant sooner. We visited on a Thursday evening which is Steak Night - although other food is available. My husband said it was the best steak he had had in a very long while. My chicken dish was also excellent. Atmosphere was friendly, but efficient. Cost really reasonable for the excellent quality of the food. This restaurant should be higher in the ratings.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BennettEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    24
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too Expensive”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Popped in for lunch, food was good and well priced but the drinks were extremely pricey. Will be eating along the seafront next time we visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jOandjOhnsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely pub grub”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We called in on the off chance one Saturday lunchtime. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The food was served quickly, local crab salad and ham ploughmans. Both of which were excellent. Very friendly pub, it must be busy in the evenings. The Sunday lunch menu looked very reasonable, I overheard the staff say that they had over 40 bookings for Sunday lunch, without the walk ins! Will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungFolkestone_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly restaurant /pub”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Visited this pub for a meal on 19 June 2014. We had a lovely evening the lobster was fresh and superbly presented. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The landlady was funny and very welcoming . Would definitely recommend and will visit again next time we come to Deal from Plymouth.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fathers Day carvery”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The New Inn is of course venerable (1605) There is a Sunday carvery starting at £8.95 for one course, then rising by £3 or £6 for 2-3 courses. Helpings of beef, turkey or pork are generous and I noticed the meats were kept fresh by being wrapped in tin foil in slack periods. The pub was nearly full, so the vegetables were regularly refilled. Other meals can be provided such as garlic mushroom, various options with salad, and soup. From the four sweets I recommend the cold one - strawberry meringue. They look after their regulars' needs and the landlady is affable. Prices a bit higher than on the town fringe but tolerable for generous portions. A mixed clientele but mostly older generation. Someone who commented on dirt might have been put off by the well trodden doormat, but food handling and storage was professional compared with some..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing