We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy town centre pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ranked #36 of 109 Restaurants in Deal
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Handy town centre pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were visiting deal on Easter Sunday and were looking for somewhere to eat for a group of eight adults. Although we hadn't booked, space was found and we were given a warm welcome by the wonderful host and hostess. The food was typically good honest British pub fare and enjoyed by our French friends, as was the beer. Well worth a visit if you are in the town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    9
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent treatment and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I have a six year old Autistic grandson we went into the above for a meal today. My grandson for dessert ask for Ice Cream and Chocolate Sauce a few minutes later we were told they had run out of Chocolate Sauce my grandson got very upset - crying. All the staff wanted to help then the Male owner sent a member of staff to the shops to purchase more to the delight of my Grandson he got what he wanted. MANY THANKS TO YOU ALL Where else would you get such service!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saas-Grund, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Only had coffees but would go back to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were looking for a nice place to get coffee after sunrise watching and found this very inviting inn. Got greeted by very kind staff and owners and thorougly enjoyed our cappuccinos in front of the fire (not a proper but nevertheless cosy). This old building has lots of good old times charm and a great warm atmosphere. When in the area again, we'd like to come back to taste their food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capricorno-vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Home cooked burger?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

After giving such a rave review in April we decided to do a special trip for my 40th to Deal and especially to have lunch here. Unfortunately the "home made" burger this time was a real disappointment as it was a processed burger in a tired bun with a processes cheese slice. Yo can taste the different between a mince meat burger and a processed meat patty. (Trade description based on the menu) the chips where very nice but unfortunately we will not be eating here again the next time we visit so we feel sad to take or business elsewhere but the trust is lost. The staff were still friendly I just hope the chef hasn't changed?

Helpful?
Thank Musicmansutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great sunday carvery, and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went to The New Inn to try the carvery, having not eaten there before, despite often enjoying the live bands on a Sunday evening. Debbie, the lovely landlady, is very welcoming and proud of the food she serves and the carvery proved this, with a choice of 4 meats – beef, lamb, turkey and pork (with lashings of crackling). There was a choice of starters - the homemade Thai style crab cakes were lovely and light and fluffy but with a good chilli kick.

The carvery itself was excellent – the meat was moist and tender with crispy roast potatoes, Yorkshire puddings that were just right and a good choice of vegetables. Finally, there was a good choice of puddings, the service was very friendly and overall good value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing