We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent addition to Deal.”
Review of The Just Reproach

The Just Reproach
Ranked #1 of 31 Nightlife in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Deal's Micropub. Started in December 2011 we are now firmly part of the Deal community. We specialise in real ales from microbreweries across the UK and have a constantly changing menu. Beers are kept in a temperature controlled room, served directly from the cask and brought to you. We also sell: real ciders; a selection of wines and soft drinks; a limited range of snacks including Kentish cheese; Kent crisps and pork pies from a local, award winning butcher. We do not sell lager or spirits nor do we have piped music or television. Mobile phones can be used to access the internet but a ringing phone results in a fine (money going to the Pilgrims Hospice). We offer a friendly and unique venue in Deal and hope to see you soon.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another excellent addition to Deal.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I can remember pubs like this from the days of my youth and it's great to see them coming back. Decent beer, somewhere to enter conversation with random people or just as easily sit in a corner reading. I strongly advise against attempting to use a mobile phone there or trying to swing a cat!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    24
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Strange name, strange pub”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Looks like a lonely hearts club meeting room. Odd mix of customers sitting around a room with no bar - beer is served from the back of the pub. Good concept, serving independent, often local beers but not your average local.

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, arizona usa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“we need these in America.....”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Mark and his daughter run a great and very different pub... Going back to pre electronics,,, no tv, no cell phones, just great folks having a beer [microbrew] together,,, check it out....

Helpful?
Thank minnesota11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A bit of a mixed experience...”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We've visited every micropub in Kent over the past few months, and the Just Reproach was the last on our list. We enjoyed our visit but...the guvnor didn't come over and said hello, although we were obviously not regulars, and in such a small place a friendly welcome would have been in order. Of more concern was what was to come. We both had the pear cider (from the bottom of the cask, as it ran out) and I'm afraid to say that about an hour and a half later we both had to rush for the loo, and stay close by it for the rest of the day - our guts had a very bad reaction to it. We hadn't eaten any food, and we both had the same drink, so can only assume it was the cider. We had travelled to visit the JR, but probably wouldn't go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PlanetLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value pub”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This new micro pub sticks to the basics - good beers from local micro-breweries; a few good wines from the local wine shop (Borough Windes); and some nice cheese if you want it. There's no bar, so the host Mark swans around the small place talking to people and looking after them. Mobile phones aren't allowed - there are a few handsets nailed to the wall to remind what'll happne to yours if you break the rules. Great place to go for a beer and chat with anyone who happens to be sitting close to you. It's that sort of place.

Helpful?
Thank Backenhamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Just Reproach also viewed

 

Been to The Just Reproach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing