We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog friendliness is selective” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GillPlum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendliness is selective”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Well we had a nice meal here, but when we went back there had been a change of duty manager and our dogs were 'too big'. He needs to tell his staff he can over-ride them as I think it makes them look a bit stupid when you ask them and they say 'yes' and then he says 'no'. Basically a nice enough place to eat, and staff were generally very pleasant. I didn't like the (rather supercilious) attitude of this guy though. So if you are planing to take a dog be aware that they may or may not be dog-friendly that day. Did feel like a bit of a case of our money was good enough for them when it suited them.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GillPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    158
    53
    21
    16
See reviews for
91
246
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We wanted to make a booking at the last minute and initially had difficulty in getting our calls to reception answered. Fortunately we did not give up ! We were given a very large room with a very large modern bathroom. It was spotless, well decorated, bright , airy and adequately furnished with many of the little extras (shampoos, biscuits etc). There was a side view of the sea.
The restaurant appears to need a chef but the breakfast was faultless.
We will return to this excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a full sea view, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherfield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fantastic location on the beach. Go for one of the sea facing rooms if you can. Well worth the money. Staff are great. Will be back. We had breakfast on the balcony over looking the sea. even though it was chilly, there was a small heater to take the edge off.
Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Lovely rooms, great food, friendly attentive staff in a location right on the water. What more could you want ? The price is also quite reasonable for the quality of the hotel.We had a a family room that was quite spacious, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toddy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently stayed for a couple of nights at the Royal Hotel Deal in one of their sea view rooms, Nelson!

The location of the hotel is great and the room was lovely, plenty of room with an amazing terrace overlooking the sea! The bathroom was quite small but o.k with a walk in shower etc but we also had a freestanding bath in the bedroom... It would have been lovely to have had breakfast on the balcony however the weather wasn't good enough.

Breakfast on the first day was o.k but on the second when the hotel was full, the staff struggled, we needed to ask for the the buffet to be replenished and service was a lot slower , they probably need more than 2 waitresses when the hotel is full to make sure things run smoothly!

The bar downstairs was very busy and noisy on the Friday night, but quieter and more cosy on Saturday.

All in all a lovely weekend break and I'm sure we will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolblue-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdF Ouest
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice and cool. Modern/refurbished rooms. Perfect location. Good british food. Very kind staff.
Best place to be in the region !
We stay there every month, no regret at all. The room overlooking the Channel is very nice, as well as the wooden balcony. We will come back ! Hope we can have a beer outside with warmer temperature in June.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tetrodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The position of the Royal in Deal and also for playing the golf course was ideal. The hotel rooms were v good and well priced for the location. We were well looked after with one of the roooms being unavailable on the first night and then spending one night in an altenate room. Not too much trouble and the staff wee v good. My only issue was that breakfast was slow and the staf did forget things which was a problem as we had tee times to meet. Overall though we enjoyed our 3 nights and were well looked after.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on the side did not attract a premium cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulRStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
7.5 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Beach Street, Deal CT14 6JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Deal
The Royal Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing