We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Waterfront Hotel(Deal)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
$128
$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Cliffs Hotel(St Margaret's at Cliffe)
$140
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Dover(Whitfield)
$63
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Pigeons(Worth)(Great Value!)
$170
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveler rating
283
186
69
27
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
186
69
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalcony roomlady hamiltonwellington roomshepherd neamelovely hotellord nelsonlarge balconysea viewsound of the wavesroll top bathcar parkthree roomsthird floorfamily roomfirst morningfresh milklovely atmosphere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 590 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before and it was okay, but seems to have had a very good refit since. We had three rooms for a party of 5 this time. All the rooms were very well appointed and clean. DAB radios, ipod docking stations etc. beds were enormous and very comfy. We didn't use the restaurant as there are so many other places to eat in town, but breakfast was good without being great. We will go again. Would recommend a balcony room, fantastic views and huge bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Owned by a Large Brewery Chain, Shepherd Neame' everything is 'bulk purchase', staff are all young and inexperienced, as is with their other 'hotel' in Sandwich The Bell! Food is mediocre, beer is , just beer, and not value for money! Saw our room and was going to stay but decided against it! Far better B+B's in Deal!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Royal. arrived late Friday and we were given a lovely room with a fantastic bathroom. All exceedingly clean and very spacious, decoration in room was great loved the lighting and colour scheme. Had a drink in the lovely seafront bar very nice staff. The bed was huge and really comfortable, again very clean sheets made for a restful night. The room was warm and the radiators worked well and the windows were able to be opended if needed. Breakfast was very good, though would have liked some more fresh fruit, and staff needed to keep a check on bowls and sppons as these seemed to be in short supply both mornings we stayed. We ate in the resturant on Saturday night which was faultless, the staff were brilliant and very efficient and professional whilst still being friendly. Car parking a slight pain, have to use the public car park next door, but not a big pain! I would recomend this Hotel to all, it is truly a relaxing, comfortable and really lovely place to stay. The location on the sea front is great. The staff are all lovely and really helpful. We are hoping to return later in the year for another long weekend or maybe a week.

Room Tip: A sea facing room would be best but we loved our room looking out onto the road.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAGHAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Had a lovely valentines stay, food fantastic but most of all the staff were very nice, We had a very large room overlooking the sea which was so beautiful, All in all a great short break would recommend this Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed at The Royal several times and its usually been good. Unfortunately I was given the only room available which was huge, and so huge that the heating in the room could not cope with the sub zero temperatures outside.

The very helpful chap who kindly helped me as much as he could, was not able to supply a portable heater, and consequently, it felt so icy that even the carpet was chilled. Although the windows were shut, there was a gap in the windows and door to the outside and the room felt as though the air conditioning had been left on as the cold wind blew into the room, which although it had curtains, it didn't have net curtains for privacy, so I had to have the main curtains closed the whole time. I don't understand why hotels don't think of their clients' privacy! The bathroom was equally freezing, and felt like a window had been left open.

I had a miserable night and had to sleep in my track suit and couldn't wait to go home and devour a bowl of hot soup.

This one's not for me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CORDELIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews