We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good example” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good example”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

It's a very good example of how a very old building can be sympathetically converted to a very modern standard without losing it's essential character.
We had booked back in february & asked for a room with a sea view
We were given "Merton" room...
First of all the Room is very well appointed. Fantastic Bathroom a 6' wide bed and all mod con's. A slight niggle was that the desk/dressing table that had the hairdryer fixed to it had no mirror.!! I don't know of many ladies who enjoy doing acrobatics whilst drying their hair in order to see into an adjacent mirror. Luckily there is a mirror above the table where the tea/coffee things are, so very handy if you want to see yourself at that particular moment!!!!! That was annoying.
The most dissapointing thing about the room was that although the room had two good sized windows, one was largely obscured by an enormous ventilation duct from the kitchen.
In both cases I seriously doubt that the windows have been cleaned this year. So although I had paid for a sea view room , the view was compromised by the filth on the windows. Of course we all understand how difficult conditions can be on the sea front room so in that case why is this not addressed?
The sound of the ventilation duct is present throughout the day from 7.30 until the kitchen closes at 21.00 so if you are planning on spending any time in your room (we did not) trying to enjoy the sea view then you will have a constant drone of theventilation duct to contend with.
There was also a very slight smell of fried food in the room which was not altogether pleasant.
Breakfast the next morning was cooked to our personal tastes but why oh why did we constantly have to ask for a refill of our coffee? Surely if you are serving coffee from a jug instead of giving us individual coffee pots then for goodness sake keep an eye on your customers and keep the cups topped up!!
However, that is not to say that the waiting staff were not attentive on the whole, polite and courteous.
With just a couple of niggles I would cetainly not hesitate to stay again at the Royal. Perhaps trying a room which overlooks the road the next time.

Room Tip: Don't go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    159
    53
    22
    16
See reviews for
92
247
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

I grew up in Deal and so know the area quite well. When I needed to go back for a weekend I tried a number of places before calling the Royal, but they were all fully booked. I read the reviews on this site and decided to book anyway, thinking they would be an exaggeration. They are not. We paid £110 per night for a room with no minibar, the smallest double bed I have ever seen, an unworking light in the bathroom and a shower with very poor water pressure. When we mentioned the poor water pressure in the room we were told it was because we were on the top floor - as if that was an excuse. On top of that noone offered to help with the luggage - to or from the room. And we ate lunch in the bar and my partner got food poisoning from their burger. Breakfast was measly and not served with grace. All in all it was an awful experience that I won't be repeating. The Royal's charges are akin to a good hotel and yet the service, attitude and quality were not. DO NOT STAY HERE. Next time I will only visit if I can get into Number One B&B or at least the Malvern!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mez1475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

All good - staff fab and room nice, big kingsize bed, large clean bedroom, sea view. Breakfast great and charming staff again. But please clean windows in bedrooms (outside) so the view is un-marred as they were dirty and definitely replace blinds as they are falling apart at bottom. Just simple tweak!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sausage47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

I booked this for our wedding anniversary based on a cold internet search and was not dissapointed. We stayed in the Wellington room which was wonderful having its own deck where one could sit and read the newspaper and look out to sea. They even have a heater above the table outside. The 3 rooms at the beach edge are the ones to book and the Wellington has an old style bath in the room. We only stayed one night but loved Deal and the beach walks and even found the pier interesting in a post-modern concrete type waty. Very romantic and very English.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondiehanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

I stayed at The Royal Hotel last weekend and was really impressed! I was with a friend and her young son. I had a lovely single room with a fabulous view of the sea and the pier, a great bathroom with an even better view, and a 3/4 bed. My friend's twin room was huge, well decorated and could not be faulted. Neither of us are easy to please, but we were both really happy with our stay.

Staff were great - efficient and professional. The bar was lively, the food was good, and we had a lovely time. Staff apologised for a night slighlty disturbed by some noise, but it was a small hiccup in what was altogether a really enjoyable break.

Parking? There's a free-on-Sundays car park 2 minutes walk away, and the cost of the car park adjacent to the hotel is reasonable- it really shouldn't put antone off staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catkin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

When we arrived, the location was great, right on the sea front.

When checked in, was told there had only been one adult per room booked in and there were suppose to be two, luckily they were double rooms, but did mean we had to share beds. We were told the cost had to increase to £100, even though the rooms had already been allocated, which was a bit off putting.

We were told that the hotel shuts at 11pm, so there was no room service, night porter or drinks served after 11pm and we had to let ourselves in after this time. We were fine with this. When we returned from the event we had been in Deal for, which was around Midnight, we went to one of the rooms and were just chatting. We were then asked to be quiet as we were making too much noise, which was unfair as we weren't moving, simply talking.

The 'hotel' was obviously not sound proofed and should not be called a hotel. It should be a bed & breakfast. The next morning, we were practically ignored by the staff who were so overly friendly the day we checked in and this made the stay very unpleasant.

It also was joined on to a car park, but you have to pay and display. It would be more beneficial to guests to be able to park for free, especially when paying such a large amount for a bog standard venue to sleep.

I would not recommend this hotel unless you were simply going to sleep and nothing else!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Old fashioned charm, lovely rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff, felt relaxing...despite having to stay for work purposes. Parking is a bit of an issue though.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Day99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
7.5 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Beach Street, Deal CT14 6JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Deal
The Royal Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing