We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”
Review of D's Steakhouse & Dive Bar - CLOSED

D's Steakhouse & Dive Bar
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A rather dingy and unwelcoming entrance, with grubby carpets on the stairs.

We visited midweek; for the first hour we were the only customers, although two more arrived halfway throough our meal, so lacked any kiind of atmosphere. With only us in there there noise from the extractor fan was off-putting, so we had to move to the other end of the restaurant, cutting us off even more from any sign of life in the bar.

Food was mediocre. My starter, a puff pastry vegetarian tart, was undercooked and soggy. My complaint was received with an apology from the charming waitress, but never mentioned again. My wife's mushroom soup was excellent. The steaks were good, but the trimmings of half a tomato and a mushroom with chips/saute potatoes pretty uninspiring. Pepper sauce was thin and bland. No real skills or technique needed, and we were left wondering why we had bothered.

We didn't stay for puds or coffee.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Proper steak!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

This place is a real gem in Deal. Restaurant steak can be so hit and miss - but not here. Seriously good quality beef cooked exactly as you've asked for it, and far better than most of the steaks I've eaten in London and France, to name but a couple of places.

The service and ambience created by Daryl and his great team, in the bar and restaurant areas, is also second to none.

Highly enjoyable all round and a great addition to Deal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MacCorkindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Lovely restaurant. Steaks were the best i have had in along time. All the staff are a credit to this establishment

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bangersnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just delicious”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

A busy, well run, local owned restaurant which does just what it says on the label - good steaks. It's as near as I have come to the best steak resto I've been to (in Cape Town). I'm also a big fan of the way they cook steaks in France and D's can match that too. Marvellous.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank melocalperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing steak, fabulous wine list - great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

If you like steak, you will love this steak house - cooked perfectly to your liking! Fantastic bar too with a good selection of wines which are very reasonably priced. The bar is always popular - the staff are fantastic, always a warm welcome.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kezzakatami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D's Steakhouse & Dive Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing