We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of The Five Bells

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Five Bells
Ranked #4 of 13 Deal B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My sister and I spent two nights here last week while visiting family in the area and we really enjoyed our stay. The bed linen and towels were spotless and our twin room (room2) was nicely decorated. Tony and John made us very welcome and any requests we had were dealt with quickly. They explained at the beginning that no one would come into our room during our stay and that suited us, clean towels were left outside the door along with fresh supplies of tea, coffee etc. We ate in on the first night and my rump steak was delicious - one of the nicest I've had, I recommend the blue cheese sauce to go with it. We didn't need a meal on the second night but having enjoyed the cheeseboard so much the previous evening we had another with a very reasonably priced bottle of merlot - delicious. The restaurant area is very pretty with crisp white table linen and we were given complimentary bread, olives and dipping oils.

We will be back to stay at the Five Bells next summer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIVEBELLSMANAGER, Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Many Thanks for choosing to stay with us, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back To The Five Bells, in the near future.

Best Regards

Tony and John
The Management Team
The Five Bells
Ringwould
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    51
    12
    12
    11
See reviews for
50
64
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PARMA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Honestly we don't understand how is it possible that this place has good reviews at all and is ranked 4 out of 5! Rooms were so dirty that bathroom floor was oily. Sheets had dark spots. Outside the door we had a huge smelly bin trash and that resulted in lot of flies inside the room as well. When people moved upstairs it was like having a cattle horde on the head. People could see inside because shades were broken. But really the worst part was the feeling of uncleanliness and squalor. We didn't even try to have breakfast. We would have moved from that if we hadn't arrived in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank XXXDCXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIVEBELLSMANAGER, Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Many Thanks for staying with us here, I find your comments some what innapropriate and is bordering on SLANDER, which is a serious matter, The bathroom floor was not oily as I inspect ALL rooms once housekeeping have finished, each floor is bleached EVERYDAY.

The Blinds in the room ARE NOT broken, and Venetian blinds are installed in every apartment allowing you to adjust the amount of light and visibility to the property.

Our bedding is FRESH everyday and we have a company that does ALL our laundry so I dont appreciate you stating there are marks all over it, people upstairs not a lot I can do about other guests.

Sadly there are flies around as we are in the middle of the Kent Countryside surrounded by Farmland,

OUR ROOMS ARE NOT HORRID NOR THAT OF SQUALOR, and Im suggesting before writing comments like this, of which this is your 1st since 2009, you are not leaving yourself open to court action, if you had a problem with your room, you should of highlighted it during your stay instead of making libelous comments on pages like this. which we as hotel have the right to reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while in Kent for a family wedding. A really warm welcome from Tony & John and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was comfortable and clean on arrival. We were advised that housekeeping would not intrude during our stay but we could request clean towels, additional tea/coffee sachets etc as required. We didn't eat any main meals here but did witness the fabulous buffet that was prepared for a wedding reception held on the premises and did have a few tasters. Although the continental breakfast was adequate I feel that on par with other establishments charging similar prices a cooked breakfast should also be included. This is only a personal choice/expectation and should not put you of from staying in this charming little pub that boasts very welcoming and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkbutterfly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIVEBELLSMANAGER, Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Many Thanks for staying with us at the Five Bells, Ringwould we look forward to welcoming you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I expect most of their customers are like us, needing to catch a night's sleep before an early ferry to France. They've done a very good job refurbishing and modernising an old village pub, and our room was in perfect condition. While the pub is on the main road from Dover to Deal, it's not as busy as the roads from the west feeding the motorway traffic in to Dover, and we didn't have any problem with traffic noise. (The windows were double-glazed anyway).

As Thursday was curry night, we had butternut squash and sweet potato curry and nann bread in the bar; well presented pub grub at a reasonable price. Sadly they no longer have hand pumps, so I had a bottle of cold Spitfire; reasonable price for that too. The buffet breakfast was fine; my wife particularly enjoyed the coffee.

One drawback is they don't have a car park. Ringwould appears to be a very sleepy Kent village, so there was no problem parking right outside the door to unload, and I found a slot further up the lane without too much difficulty.

They were a bit naughty taking the £60 room fee off my credit card when I booked rather than waiting until we had spent the night there.

Room Tip: We had room 1, but the layout of the block appeared to me to make them all pretty similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JaguarEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwould kent
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Im hard on reviews when i parting with my money, i cannot fault this delightfull place well worth every penny. will defo return thankyou, just like to mention the beer is kept so well,which is hard to find nowadays

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed last night and had a great time with the managers Tony and John. Thank-you for making us feel so welcome. Our food was well presented, and tasty. The menu is a little limited, but the hosts can be forgiven for this. We didnt have time for breakfast as we had an early start.
We would definately stay againn, if they'll have us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David c C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I booked 2 nights at the the Five Bells as my wife and I were taking a day trip to France and thought that it would be nice to stay in the Dover area rather than face the M25 after a long day. The Pub/Inn is easy to find, and got a great welcome from Tony and John. The room 4 which was clean,tidy and contained everything that you expect. The bar is spacious but quiet. The locals do not seem to have taken to having a drink of an evening. The first night we decided to eat in the Pub and the food was OK. The Steak and Ale pie was tasty and my Wife said that her curry was tasty although missing a nan bread as they had run out. As mentioned in other reviews the pub is near the main Deal to Dover road so some traffic noise is to be expected. We were off to France early so we had a breakfast tray delivered which was fine - no instant coffee to be seen.

Off we went to France. Got back in the evening to find that our room hadn't been cleaned, our breakfast tray taken from the room nor the tea-coffee facilities replenished. We fancied a nightcap so I took the 'dirts' to the bar and got fresh cups to take back. Also, my wife wanted a cointreau but they didn't have any and overheard another guest ask for something that they didn't have.

I think that this is the first time I have stayed anywhere that didn't make up the room. There really is a need for a housekeeper. If they are going to rely on guests staying at the hotel rather than drinkers then this needs to be sorted out. Also, I know this is a minor grinch, but the loo roll is the very cheap thin stuff and should be replaced with better quality as so not to use so much!

The breakfast was average. I think that all rooms coming at once meant that it was a bit of a free-for-all and Tony was working hard to keep everyone happy. Again, there were signs of corners being cut (value yoghurts for example, and not butter pretending to be butter) which just taints the whole experience.

I really wish Tony and John well as they were both extremely friendly and hardworking but there is still a way to go.

Room Tip: Room 4 is good as it is away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottjobyfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
3.0 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
526 reviews
2.1 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
888 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sandwich
703 reviews
2.8 mi away
Number One B&B
Number One B&B
#1 of 13 in Deal
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Bells

Property: The Five Bells
Address: Front Street, Deal CT14 8HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Five Bells 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th Centuary refurbished Bar. Hotel, Located 5 minutes from Deal and The Port Of Dover. Restaurant Open Daily Offering a Full Menu, pizza Menu and Lightbite Menu. AFFORDABLE DINING FOR EVERYONE...... Sunday 12-3 is Sunday Roast and Full evening Menu 5-9.30Pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Five Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Five Bells Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing