We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab place...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Douglas Coffee House

The Black Douglas Coffee House
Ranked #5 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Deal
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fab place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I absolutely love the vibe & food at this place. my fave spot for lunch bar none in deal. the family who run it work so hard... only thing is I do wish the service was a bit snappier. It takes a good 20 minutes to half hour to get your order even if its just soup which is a shame. a minor blight on an otherwise perfect enterprise!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mymtokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    56
    33
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I doug it.....man”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of taking a late lunch at the Black Douglas with my girlfriend and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. I had there signature breakfast with a cup of dark hot chocolate and found it to be groan grabingly transcendent. My girlfriend enjoyed a goats cheese & red pepper sandwich with a cappuccino. Even with the "crazy" mix of plates, cups & cutlery I would recommend The Black Douglas to anyone looking for a more relax and different coffee house in Deal. Oh and the chocolate/fig cake was also a real treat.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallow, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good coffee, great view,warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wonderful bohemian cafe, thoroughly eccentric. Apart from the biting wind off the sea one could be on the Rive Gauche. Very friendly and helpful staff and the cakes are an utter delight.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Day out with the Girls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great food, in a very quirky little restaurant/cafe - particularly like the non-matching china. Attentive staff

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank whitecliffs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty disheartening experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place is too small and thinks its a lot better than it actually is. Tables are too small for four adults to sit comfortably. The coffee machine wasn't working so accepted a filter coffee with milk accompanied by a chocolate croissant. Coffee was really not nice and If the people serving didn't recognise this then they shouldn't be working in a food environment! My son had a hot chocolate that was also pretty vile! It must have been bad for him not too drink it! Oh and the cups that the coffee were served in we're chipped and very small.
If you want to run a trendy bohemian cafe, then I suggest you pay a visit to Notting Hill and see how it's done properly first!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MANTPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Douglas Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to The Black Douglas Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing