We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're we in the same restaurant ?”

The Royal Hotel Quarterdeck Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 110 Restaurants in Deal
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Nowra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We're we in the same restaurant ?”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Fortunately I did not read the reviews before eating in the restaurant or I would have avoided it. My experience was different to those I have read below. The service was fine the food was good and the prices not excessive. If I was being "picky" there were a few minor problems, there were two versions of the menu with different choices some not available, and the menu was not very large. one order of drinks was forgotten, but this was quickly rectified with an apology. I would certainly eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    45
    36
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eythorne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“our emergency meal with relaxion!!!!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

this week has been an absolute nightmare!!! My mum fell and had horrendous injuries, the dog was ill and the car (new) broke down. UGH!!

After this week I did not feel like cooking a meal. The Royal came to the rescue. We had a lovely relaxing meal, and we were able to take the dog, who is getting well, into the bar with us. It actually all calmed me down and I felt half normal again. No frills but good service and a very good bar meal. Royal, you saved the day.............. or week. Thanks.xxx

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

we stopped here today for a light lunch, in the hotel garden enjoying the sea view.The menu wording made the food sound exciting.Unfortunately this was not the case!!!. I had the falafel and spinach burger served with garlic mayo,celeriac coleslaw salad and chips.The burger had no flavour was dry and looked like a Tesco veggie special,there was a scraping of mayo on the bun,the coleslaw was in the tiniest dish you have ever seen!!An absolute rip off for the cost.My husbands food was of similar quality

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This review is purely about the food as we didn't stay in the accommodation... On a recent day trip to Deal we decided to have Sunday lunch at The Royal. The menu was limited and there was an additional choice of 2 Sunday Roasts. The food arrived very quickly as we were some of the first to order when it opened at 12 noon. We ordered 2 roast beef, a burger and a Piri Piri chicken burger.
As far as burgers go, they were fine although the chips could have been fried for longer as they were a little under cooked and nard in the centre, the roasts on the other hand were at the best average. There was plenty of meat which had obviously been re-heated, there were 3 new potatoes and only 2 roast potatoes, the latter of which were hard, almost like they too had been re-heated or had been cooked very early in the day. The Yorkshire and veggies were average. These roasts could have been rescued had there been a lovely homemade beef gravy but sadly this was instant with little flavour which just added to the overall disappointment.
On the plus side, the staff were all very helpful and attentive.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kymjamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
“worse service ever known”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked for our 2nd wedding anniversary as we had spent our wedding night at the hotel. We where shown to our table and ordered our drinks, These took nearly 20 minutes to come at this point they took our food order. The starter I ordered I was told they didn't have so we just had main courses these took around a half hour to arrive. At end of the main course we wait to see the desert menu and we waited and we waited, it would have been nice to have seen any one to ask for a desert menu but know one came, A waiter did come into the room after around 10 - 15 minutes, but didn't come over to us but just took the empty wine glasses of a table where know one was sitting. At this point we gave up on the idea of having a dessert and went to the reception to pay our bill. What a surprise no one there, we waited for around 5 minutes and then went into the bar to find someone, all waiter/waitress where standing around the bar chatting. The food we had was very nice but the services was appalling

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shepherdswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Hotel Quarterdeck Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Hotel Quarterdeck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing