We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lord Nelson's old haunt”

The Royal Hotel Quarterdeck Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 110 Restaurants in Deal
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Walmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lord Nelson's old haunt”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel was refurbished by Shepherd Neame brewery some 8 years ago, a long overdue facelift. It was then managed by a very professional lady called Sara who transformed the bar, restaurant and rooms to a new level of excellence. In recent years the management has changed several times and sadly the standards now seem to be slipping again. The bar staff they have are very nice and the bar food trade seems to be doing well but all the hard work put in to the restaurant seems to have gone to waste as nobody uses any more. Beer probably most expensive in town but suppose you are paying for the view.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank simmo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    44
    35
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wigmore .KENT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lunch at the ROYAL.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The service and meal was excellent,good all round ,for families as well,made you feel "special".very polite waiters,food nicely laid out for a carvery,gorgeous desserts as well.WELL WORTH A VISIT.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank xabiachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well priced, pub grub and good beer.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Well, this is a brewery owned pub / hotel so my expectations weren't necessarily gastropub / fine dining. However if you are after some good beer and a well priced feed, then it seems to tick the boxes.

The staff were helpful and attentive, good selection of beers and wine. The dining area is pub food and restaurant . We decided to go pub grub and the area had a log fire going, had plenty of tables and was not too busy.

The food was priced well and nothing out of this world I.e it was fish and chips, fish cakes, burger type fayre. Good portions and came quickly.

Coming from an area where Fullers owned pubs are the norm, they are pretty much the same - better than a slug / brewers fayre type pub, but perhaps lacking in the character of a privately owned place.

A three and a half venue....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beatlejuice01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent steak and a good variety fish dishes”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I ate here on a cold, wet and very blustery evening in November - we had not reserved a table but arrived at about 6.30 and were able to get a table relatively easily, however 30 minutes later and we would not have been so lucky as it rapidly filled up.
The room was lovely and cosy with a fire blazing away. The staff were attentive, friendly and cheerful.

We shared a fish platter starter which was really filling and tasty, then we each had a rump steak. The steaks were cooked to our exact requirements and went down a treat. The only negative was the slighlty bland and floury, obviously not home made chips - we mentioned this to the waitress who told the chef immediately. We were advised that from the 20th November the kitchen would be making their own chips - very sensible.

There were a variety of fresh fish available which I understand changes daily.

The whole place was buzzing. One negative was the number of very young children in the early part of the evening which made for a rather noisy room at times and possibly dangerous for the waitresses carrying hot food, since the parents were oblivious to their offspring causing mayhem around the room.

Parking in the early evening was possible in the hotel car park, but by 7pm it was full.

I would go again and also try for a later evening meal time to avoid the rowdy children.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Royal - good but.........”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went with a friend on Saturday, their 1st visit to Deal, and as a semi-regular to Royal, I know I can usually guarantee decent food. But it really was below par, we had large seafood starter for 2 that really wasn't that great, and was quite pricey, but had the rump steak which was superb, but the chips let it down totally. Gave feedback to the staff, who were very good and helpful, and I believe the comments were fed back to the manager. Also, as per "Travelonmeown", even early evening, the Boatmens' Room was full of children running amok!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EPR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Hotel Quarterdeck Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Hotel Quarterdeck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing