We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth Travelling To” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Mermaid Fish Bar

The Blue Mermaid Fish Bar
Ranked #50 of 109 Restaurants in Deal
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional British fish n chip takeway with some limited seating. World class fresh fish, batter, hand cut chips, will definitely go back - worth the trip from London for this even if Deal were not such a good place to visit (which it is).
Margate Kent
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth Travelling To”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Visited the Blue Mermaid a couple of weeks ago while visiting from Margate. Without a shadow of doubt this was the best cod and chips we have had in a long time. Cooked freshly and extremely tasty at a reasonable price. It may not be good for the planet but today the sun is shining and we will take the 15 mile drive this evening to enjoy the experience once again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    6
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My favorite fish and chip shop..........always look forward to some good fish and chips when we visit Deal and always from this shop!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent F+C”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Living just around the corner, and using the Blue Mermaid on a fairly regular basis, I'm surprised at the negative reviews. Nothing special. Nothing exceptional. Reliable and well cooked fish and chips. What more can you ask for from a 'chippie'??

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“3.5 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very good fish & chip takeaway with an award for selling sustainable fish. I have eaten here 4 times, three times excellent, one ordinary.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“wet fish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Worst fish I have ever tasted, If in Deal you should use Middle Street fish bar, never a let down and cooked by professionals

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gillsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Mermaid Fish Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Mermaid Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing