We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pub”
Review of The King's Head

The King's Head
Ranked #13 of 109 Restaurants in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a great pub, just like the old fashioned pubs, definitely not a foody place though. Good beer and atmosphere, so much going on. Food is your average "Brake Bros" Fare pre packaged and portion controlled but perfectly acceptable given the surroundings. Overrall, worth a visit if only for the beer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    94
    28
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
672 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“Very good but not great”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I visited the Kings Head on a blustery and wet day. Very popular pub with good selecyion of beers and friendly staff. The food menu was very average and not cheap. We both ordered the fish and chips which were disappointing. You would hope that a pu serving seafood here would make the effort to avoid frozen fish and frozen chips but sadly that wasnt the case.

Also note that lunch is served until 2:30 on the dot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Blooming marvellous”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

One of the best pubs in Deal, the King's Head is situated on the sea-front with extensive seating outside, perfect on a fine day. The pub has become part of the Shepherd Neame estate but boasts a wide variety of beers and lagers. The food is generally excellent, although like all bars the wait can be lengthy during the busy summer months. The staff are genuinely welcoming and friendly. There is an extensive display of sports memorabilia, testament to the landlord's sporting youth and the popularity of the place as a B&B during the Open when it is staged at Sandwich down the coast. The summer flower displays are famous throughout the area. A great place for lunch or a drink in the evening after a day spent exploring east Kent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

As vegetarians, we are used to having little choice, but to find one of the two veggie options was not available was very disappointing. This left the lasagne. The garlic bread was good but the lasagne tasted only of tomato sauce and I left most of it...Maybe we chose the wrong night, but there was no atmosphere either. We won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatchingKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“5 is just not enough - a true English pub.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The title says it all; we had the special T bone steak, absolutely fantastic, staff were helpful and attentive. If this was near our home we would be their best customer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing