We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a snowflake!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a snowflake!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

An absolutely fantastic hotel/restaurant with wonderful staff! The bar staff were first rate and the food was out of this world! Easily the best restaurant in Deal :-) Beautiful views overlooking the sea. The crab sandwich was worth every penny and more! Anyone planning to visit this exquisite seaside town should most definitely pay a visit to this little gem. I have visited restaurants all over the world and I have to say Mr Dunkerley you're up there with the best of the best! The only thing I would say is that it would have been nice to have had a little background entertainment... Maybe a singer? A little bird tells me your daughter is a very good singer! Anyway hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    71
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
34
124
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My fiance and I due to be married in october needed a short break before our big day, so decided a holiday over the august bank holiday in deal would be perfect. We booked to stay at dunkerleys because of the great location over looking the sea whilst within short walking distance of local amenities.

Upon arrival we decided to check in as we had driven a long distance from london. We were greated by friendly receptionist who presented us with the details for the hotel and showed us to the room.

The next morning we had breakfast, a "full english". The quality of ingrediants used was excellant and this was again bought out by friendly waitor.

My work entails me travelling uk and staying in multiple hotels each month. I can truly say this hotel offers excellant accomodation, is in a great location and represents good value for money. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking staying in the deal area.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here with my family for one night, we left the food choice to Chef, specifying that we wanted seafood. A stunning Crab bisque, followed by Scallops, Salmon and locally sourced lobster was matched with a fantastic choice of wine, a very easy drinking Chablis. The service was excellent, Katie and Guy attended to our every need. So much so that our 14 year old boy stated that it was the 'Best meal he had ever had'...needless to say..mum was gutted..but could hardly disagree!!

The rooms were very clean and tidy with all amenities required, Firm beds and a good nights sleep had by all.

Will definitely stay again, as we will have to go back for the best seafood in Kent! Thank you to all the staff. Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had such a great weekend!
We had a very warm welcome, which felt genuine. The breakfast was so tasty. This was great after the comfortable four poster bed with sea view. I came away with a completely relaxed attitude after the Pimms & live band in the afternoon. For the evening there are many other local restaurants to try but we returned for drinks in the friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatPur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marley2008
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Dunkerley's for one night and we had a lovely stay.

PROS
The staff were very friendly towards us and other guests and nothing was too much for them. Always offering to help us with our bags, offering room service or asking us if they could help us in anyway.
We had the three course menu and the food was 8.5 out of ten. Well presented, tasteful and again staff very very attentive.
We had a big room overlooking the pier, No noise, Bed was very comfortable and the shower was powerful.

CONS
It was a hot day and the air con in the bedroom was not looking, also the bin is the room was very stained on the outside, so it was a eye sore.
The reception area smelt of damp
The tables outside the hotel, the table cloths were dirty / sticky (even when no one was sitting there) as the staff forgot to clean them
In the restaurant, the black dinner plates need updating as they are heavily scratched

Having said all of that, it was a nice stay and would stay again


Having said all that, the location

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marley2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Three of us stayed in room 9 the crows nest. Inc our 5 year old son.

The good:
Fab location and sea view.
Very comfy bed.
Very friendly staff
Ok breakfast, when they have black pudding.

The bad:
Traffic noise and seagulls squawking, results in no sleep after 6am.
Noisy beer garden pubs below room until 11.30pm.
No lift, so dragging bags up 4 flights of stairs.
Dated look & sometimes musty smell in hotel.
Room make up missed one day.
Morning paper missed for two days.
Water staining in room and tatty windows.
Patchy wifi at best.

The solutions:
Money needs to be spent on upgrades.
Install secondary glazing for sound proofing.
Re paint, re paper and re carpet hotel.
Open windows in breakfast room.
Better staff coverage/ organisation in event of staff sickness etc. re room clean and papers.
Boost wifi system.
Install air con in room.

In summary, nice place let down by a few glitches but our bill was reduced on check out so all ok in the end.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 201Hedgefunder201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location, friendly staff - we didn't have dinner but other guests seemed very happy with it!! If you're looking to stay in Deal there really is no need to look anywhere else - thoroughly recommended. When we stay in Deal this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Head Deal
King's Head Deal
#3 of 13 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Address: 19 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkerleys Seafood Restaurant & Hotel on Deal seafront is highly commended & offers a warm & friendly welcome to its visitors; an award-winning restaurant with comfortable en-suite bedrooms; six with sea views, some with spa baths, all with modern HD TVs & wi-fi for computer access. A perfect retreat for golfers, businessmen, walkers & families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkerley`s Restaurant Hotel Deal
Dunkerley's Restaurant And Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing