We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing the Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A sunny London morning in March. Do I get on with the decorating or do we run away. We chose the latter & headed to Dunkerley's because I'd read (here) that the seafood was good.

When I rang to enquire it was clear they were very quiet so we booked a principal room overlooking the sea with spa bath for two nights at a very reasonable £130 per night including the set meal which in itself was priced at about £30 per head. The true price for the room with breakfast was about £140/150 per night so this was a bargain.

In retrospect though I wouldn't have been happy paying that price for the room. Maybe £120 would be more realistic.

However the staff are helpful, friendly and polite and the breakfast staff quite brightened up the morning. And talking of breakfasts, these were very good indeed with quality produce well cooked & presented.

The set price evening meal was also pretty good and obviously popular with the locals. Oysters, lobster and fresh local fish dishes were all on that menu and there's a further bistro menu for more general fare.

I think perhaps Dunkerley's suffers from a mild personality disorder because it doesn't quite know what it's meant to be. A restaurant with rooms or a hotel with restaurant. This is borne out by the bill for accommodation headed Dunkerley's Restaurant.

No matter it was a pleasant break in the early spring at a fair price. PS. Just behind the restaurant/hotel is a typical 1950's sweetshop where you can buy your old favourites by the quarter!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mart126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 266 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

Very good front facing bedroom, very comfortable double bed.
Staff very polite friendly and welcoming.
Food was delicious BUT the portions were extraordinarily small.
Sunday lunch consisted of a tiny portion of roast beef, a few vegetables and 4 tiny roast potatoes. The creme brulee was wonderful but consisted of three mouthfuls!!!!
The biggest negative of all was the lack of hotel car parking. We had to move the car from one public car park to another. Very inconvenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My partner booked for us to have dinner here, stay over and breakfast the following morning for my birthday. Firstly, the the Linden Suite was beautiful and stunning views from the room. Really worth every penny. The food was flawless - dinner and breakfast. The staff were courteous and overall this is the perfect venue for a special weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMerovingian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This was a one night trip to see if my husband, recovering from a stroke, could cope with a night away. This was a good place to take him. It was quiet and the staff could not have been more helpful. The stairs were a bit of a problem but our room was lovely. We had a sea view and a superb bathroom. The linen, towels were of a very high standard. Tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits were available in the room.
Our meal in the restaurant was delicious. Paying £10.00 extra for Dover Sole was not worth it.
Our only niggle was the polyester pillows. We will take our own next time!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoned11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

A wonderful and friendly hotel. Spent another New Year and it is like spending it with an extended family. The Staff are a delight and make you feel at home. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent, and locally sourced. If a requirement is not on the menu, just ask, and everything will be done to accomodate. Bedrooms are a good size, with a range of sizes and cost, and spotlessly clean. A sea view is worth the extra cost. The only down is that there is no lift. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: The Crows Nest, suite, has a beautiful view over the pier and Channel. Has wifi, if required.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanityFayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We have stayed at Dunkerly's Hotel three times this year and are returning again this weekend. In our view its perfect for a weekend break. We have experienced the Signalman Room twice and it is our favourite. We have also stayed in the Smugglers Room which is very private but as well appointed as the other rooms.

Room Tip: Book early it is very popular.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londinium M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We recently stayed at Dunkerleys Hotel in Deal. The weather, as usual, was not great but from the minute we arrived at the hotel it didn't matter. The Hotel has fantastic views over the pier and the channel, the staff are friendly and happy and the food in the restaurant was as good as any we have eaten anywhere in the world. Marvelous hotel, warm and friendly staff and a truly fantastic restaurant!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizer009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
727 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
317 reviews
14.5 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Address: 19 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range: $103 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkerleys Seafood Restaurant & Hotel on Deal seafront is highly commended & offers a warm & friendly welcome to its visitors; an award-winning restaurant with comfortable en-suite bedrooms; six with sea views, some with spa baths, all with modern HD TVs & wi-fi for computer access. A perfect retreat for golfers, businessmen, walkers & families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkerley`s Restaurant Hotel Deal
Dunkerley's Restaurant And Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing